We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mac's of Main Street

Mac's of Main Street
6 Main Sreet, Killarney, IE, Killarney Kerry, Ireland
0646635213
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 152 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We dined in on a Saturday night after hearing so many good reviews. Food was nice but our experience was tarnished by rude service and the overly bright uncomfortable interior. Lighting should be far softer for evening dining, it wasnt at all relaxing, such a shame as this place has good potential.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    99
    39
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Staff very friendly, great restaurant for families with kids, could not do enough for us. Food was great value and high quality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Came here for brunch on Sunday. An amazing varied menu, great service, friendly and helpful, great value and the potato skins and mochas were too die for! Would return anytime!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Anytime that I am in Killarney, I would always make Macs one of my stops. Food is great and the service from the staff is always fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“homemade burger to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

my wife and I had a meal here on Saturday 27th October, we had been in last year as well, and wanted to see if the high standard remained, Glad to report that it did. We both had the home made burger with chips which was delicious, as a main course, and washed it down with a beautiful bottle of French red wine, we were stuffed!! the service was excellent, and a special mention to Martina who served our table, we enjoyed the banter with her. Ifyou visit Killarney you have to visit Mac`s

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's of Main Street also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Mac's of Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac's of Main Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.