We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Ireland Feel Feel With Modern Facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Leap Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Salmon Leap Farm to your Saves list
Salmon Leap Farm
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Glenflesk, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Old Ireland Feel Feel With Modern Facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed with Sean and his family in early April. His wife was there when we arrived rather late in the day, around 9pm, as we were caught up driving the Gap of Moll/Dunloe. She was a warm, welcoming person with a lot of welcome recommendations for what to do in the area. We had suffered a flat tire on the Gap of Dunloe that day so she immediately called Sean who arranged for us to have our tire changed early the next morning at a shop he regularly does business with. We were also interested in doing the Skellig Michael ferry tour the next morning, so Sean called before we woke up to check on weather conditions. On our second day, I fell ill from poorly prepared food, and Sean was more than accommodating, asking if I wanted tea for my stomach and offering to make food later the next morning than normal.

The house itself has a warm inviting feel with a quaint brook in front with a beautiful garden. Views from rooms include mountains and surrounding countryside. Bathroom with very modern showers and other facilities.

Sean also went out of his way to give us guidebooks on places we were going as well as translating "We are pregnant" into Gaelic to take photos with to announce our upcoming arrival.

Would definitely recommend and also will stay again when we return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North of Boston
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast about 10 minutes out of Killarney. The property is a working farm that has been in the innkeepers family for centuries (over 300 years old). The property is beautiful with rolling hills in front and meadows leading to mountains in the distance behind. The brook babbles out front. Right off the main road for easy access to your destinations in town or in the country side. The room we had was nicely appointed with a view of the mountains. Bed super comfortable. Inn keeper is nicely present but not over intrusive. Breakfast is in the old part of the house. It was the most classic bed and breakfast we stayed in our week long trip. Most of the others are more like ranch or actually built for the purpose of housing tourists. This one has some style, and a bit of history to seep into.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My granddaughter and I spent a restful, fabulous evening at Salmon Leap. Loved the fire and the relaxing family room and even played cars with the grandson! Such gracious hosts and felt so at home in Ireland because of their hospitality. Helped us plan our next day and sent us on our way refreshed and full of expectation. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here a year ago, but loved it. Our room had a spare, open feel and looked out onto the back pasture and hills. We picked up picnic fare and a bottle of wine during the afternoon and ate dinner out back looking at the view--and looking back in time since the land holds an early Christian burial site and the owner is a wonderful steward of the past. A three-hundred-year old farmhouse, archaeology, cattle and a view of fields and hills: a perfect place to stay. Plus it's close to the back way down to Kenmare for those of us who like to go off the beaten path.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were 5 couples traveling through Ireland. Our stop at Salmon Leap proved to be one of our favorite places to stay. Sean was an excellent host; his hospitality was superb, as well as the wonderful Irish breakfast he prepared. He was so knowledgable of the area and gave us good tips on the best way to get the most out of our short visit in the area. Will definitely stay at Salmon Leap again the next time we are in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We experienced warmth, friendliness and service like this at none of the other B&B's we visited while in Ireland and Northern Ireland. The farm was beautiful and cozy, the rooms very comfortable - the shower was wonderful! Our room had a queen and a twin - they had even put window shutters in to cover the windows and block the light if we wanted to sleep in, it was fantastic! Sean's warmth and knowledge of the area helped us so much when it came to making our sightseeing choices - we wouldn't have ventured to the Skelligs without his input and those islands were the highlight of the trip. The breakfast was delightful - so delicious!

We will be coming back - it is the ONLY place to stay in Killarney.

Room Tip: Sean was very responsive to email requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We arrived at Salmon Leap drowned rats- as only bikers can be- but the warmth of Sean's welcome soon put paid to any lingering damage done by insane mountain roads and hurtling rain. Settled into the fantastic lounge with a pot of tea (tea good enough to make even Yorkshire folk grin) and biscuits we were soon as happy as can be and the rest of our stay followed that pattern. The B and B follows a green routine, so tea and coffee is not a kettle and little pots of UHT milk in your room but brought to you on request in the lounge- which has the added benefit of bringing guests together to chat and swap stories- if you add Sean's wonderfully intelligent and inquisitive son Peter to the mix, complete with a couple of toy motorbikes, you get me on my knees playing with toys and the highlight of a wonderful stay with wonderful people. That is not to say that the other elements are not equally impressive- the room was clean and cosey with a great bed, the food was outstanding and locally sourced and the views of the mountains glorious. Go and stay with Sean and family or die unfulfilled. Simple as that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salmon Leap Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Leap Farm

Address: Glenflesk, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salmon Leap Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: This farmhouse is over 200 years old and is situated in the picturesque Glenflesk valley. We are located nine miles east of Killarney town on the N22 road. We have six comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. There is also a guest sitting room. There is a no smoking policy at Salmon Leap Farm. Salmon Leap has private parking, central heating, power showers, TVs in bedrooms and is approved by the Irish Tourist Board. This is an ideal base for touring the South West of Ireland. For visitors interested in walking or hill walking, we offer advice on a number of local hill walking routes. We can adapt the walks to suit your level of fitness. We can also organise walks for beginners and more advanced hill walkers in the Killarney area. Please contact us directly by email for further information. There is a site of archaeological interest at Salmon Leap Farm. It is an early Christian burial ground dating from 500AD to 1200AD. We are located within easy reach of the world famous Killarney Lakes, and are an ideal base for touring the Dingle Peninsula and The Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Salmon Leap Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Leap Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.