We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Rookery Road | Ballycasheen, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

With a wonderful welcome from the owner to the spaciousness of the room I could not find fault in this lovely and so traditionally Irish B&B. It made our trip to the beautiful County Kerry just that extra special. I would definitely recommend to everyone! A tip: ask for the homemade proper Irish Breakfast to get your day started as it should.

Room Tip: Try and get one upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at four different B &Bs during our trip to Ireland. Springfield Lodge definitely had the best breakfasts. When you order pancakes, not only are they delicious, but the plate comes piled high with fresh fruit. My husband had the traditional Irish breakfast at each place we stayed and he said Kay's was the best. We stayed in the room with two full beds so it was roomy and comfortable, the only drawback being the small shower. When I left there I felt as though I was leaving a friend. Kay is so warm and friendly and she makes your Killarney stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I recently stayed at this wonderful B&B for a week in July and subsequently over the course of the Bank Holiday weekend at the end of August.

The location is ideal as Springfield Lodge is located just outside the town centre which is less than a 5 minute journey by car or a pleasant 10 minute walk. As the town centre can get very busy, the location is perfect as it quiet and peaceful yet extremely convenient given the proximity to the town.

The rooms are comfortable, homely, spotlessly clean and all contain lovely en suite bathrooms as well as complementary tea and coffee.

Kay is a wonderful and hospitable host; she is welcoming, friendly and helpful, and provided me with recommendations for a selection of restaurants and trips for tourists which was a great help.

The breakfasts are excellent and there are a wide range of options to choose from. The breakfasts beat those served in 5 star hotels and I can fully endorse Kay's full irish breakfast, the delicious pancakes served with a selection of fresh fruit and the creamy porridge.

I had a wonderful stay and look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scorze, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay with my family at Springfield Lodge for a few days. It is really a beautiful place to stay, Key is a lovely lady taking care about every detail in order to make your stay better. Exceptional breakfast prepared by Key, you can't be disappointed !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, ME
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for a week and it was nice (with teen girls) to just unpack once. We did day trips from Galway to Kinsale and enjoyed our tours around very much It was nice to have a full brekfast made to order to start each day. We had a family room (hard to come by in peak season) with 2 comfortable beds, ensuite (with private bath & toilet). The setting is very much residential so it is quiet with normal neighborhood sounds. We slept well and Kay and her husband were friendly and accomodating. My only knock was that the shower stall was uncommonly small and the water pressure (seemingly like all of Ireland) was lacking. But that was a relatively minor blip in a very nice stay. Recommended highly for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Springfield Lodge July 2013, We found the room to be less than clean. The TV didn't work, so we went to the common room to watch TV. The couch smelled like a dog. The reading lamp didn't have a light bulb. The kettle for morning tea was dirty. The water pitcher had a peice of plastic in it. The room only had skylights, no windows so there wasn't even a view. A dog barked all night. Breakfast was toaster warmed pancakes, not even homemade. All in all a terrble night. We aren't hard to please just give a clean room with clean working appliances. Couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Don't choose this B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyCharlie, Owner at Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We truly value the opinion of all our guests and we are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Providing our guests with excellent service and hospitality is the essence of our business and is therefore absolutely imperative to us. Whilst I can assure you that the rooms are cleaned to the highest standard, as you will see from my many wonderful testaments set out below that cleanliness has never before been an issue, I nevertheless take all feedback very seriously. I operate an open door policy and would have been very happy to address your concerns with you at the time with a view to making your stay with us more enjoyable. Best Regards Kay O Shea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivoli, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've been to Springfield Lodge last summer, we stayed there just one night but it was enough to discover how wonderful this B&B was.
Kay, the owner of the B&B was friendly,sweet and careful. The house is beautiful, rooms are perfect and the breakfast Kay made us was rich and delicious. We ate pancakes and yogurts with fresh fruits, orange juice, tosted bread with butter and marmalade,tea, coffee and a typical irish breakfast.
The lodge is placed in a peaceful area near the city centre and near Killarney's most wonderful attractions (lakes and national park). If you take a car or a bicycle you won't have problems to reach the Springfield Lodge. It is a perfect location to spend holidays, trust us, you will be very sad to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Rookery Road | Ballycasheen, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.