We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best price! great host! excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mountain Dew

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mountain Dew
Save
You added The Mountain Dew to your Saves list
3 Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best price! great host! excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are a family of 4 and loved this place. It was in the perfect location and we could walk to everything. The welcome room has snacks and tea anytime of day...breakfast was the best I had in Ireland. Can also pay to have your laundry done. Eileen was so fantastic and our best host of the entire stay. Welcomed our kids and free internet...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Mountain Dew is so close to town, a wonderful park, and a short walk to Ross castle. The warm hospitality that Eileen greeted us with made me, my sister and our friend feel so welcomed. Our room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was enormous. The breakfast was out of this world! So much to choose from besides what you have to choose from on the menu. They've also got a great common room to sit in with complimentary soups, snacks, and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stay at this place, period. They have pancake with fruit for breakfast. They have enormous amount of food, tea and coffee available for you at all time. You feel home ++. They give you like 4 pillows in your room and have good internet! I don't know what else to tell you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, nice rooms, close to the center which is quite useful if you dońt have a car. But above all, best breakfast ever: impressive choice of cereals, fresh fruits, home made pancakes or waffles!! Everything you could dream of!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Coming from Australia, my husband & I always tend to stay in hotels & were a bit nervous about trying B&B's but we really enjoyed them. Mountain Dew was the best B&B we stayed in.Eileen was a fabulous host, nothing was too much trouble, and she was such a happy & bubbly person. We were very happy with our room & ensuite bathroom which were both spotless (we had a double & a single bed ). The lounge had plenty of tea, coffee, cakes & biscuits which you could help your self to any time of day. Breakfast had SO many choices & was delicious. Eileen arranged a bus tour around "The Ring of Kerry" for us which left from a few doors away & she even walked with us to show us exactly where to go. (I would highly recommend this tour) The beautiful little town is a very short walk away & so is Ross Castle which made Mountain Dew the perfect location for our stay in Killarney. We only had 2 nights there but would have loved to stay longer if our itinery had allowed. Would highly recommend this B&B. Thanks again Eileen for making our trip to Ireland even better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Mountain Dew is centrally located to many items of interest. Ross Castle is just down at the end of the street and we fortunately were able to arrive in time to go and watch the sunset from the castle...absolutely beautiful. We went back to our rooms and got situated, spoke to Eileen about dining options nearby and she showed us the fabulous lounge with all the wonderful goodies (my husband's favorite). The center of town was just a few moments walk from the Mountain Dew. We were able to shop a little, enjoy the quaint town and have a marvelous dinner before returning for a wonderful nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we visit my daughter at The Eclipse Activity centre we always add few days onto our trip to visit the surrounding area. For 3 years in a row we have stayed at Mountain Dew. Eileen is a fabulous host to a exceptional B&B, in fact she is 'the epitome of the Irish welcome'. The breakfast is always the best we have had anywhere, the variety is tremendous. The bedrooms are meticulously clean although a little on the small side, but the 24 hour lounge makes up for that with complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits and cakes galore, so much choice. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in killarney. I recommend mountain dew wholeheartedly and we will most definitely be back again next year. Thanks Eileen !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mountain Dew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Dew

Address: 3 Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mountain Dew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.