We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Kate Kearney's Cottage!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kate Kearney's Cottage

Kate Kearney's Cottage
Gap of Dunloe | Gap of Dunloe, Killarney, Ireland
+353 64 664 4146
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bar, Restaurant, Entertainment venue, souvenir shops, Pub grub and much more. Our multi award winning banquet style themed "Irish Night" runs from March through to October, a must if your visiting. In the high season you can expect the show to run at least 6 nights a week. We're also situated close to many walking trails in the world famous Gap of Dunloe. There's Jaunting cars and horse riding within a minutes walk and at least 5 golf course within a 10 mile radius. We also cater for weddings and after wedding parties. Live music and BBQs are never too far away either during the summer
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“We loved Kate Kearney's Cottage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stopped in for a quick dessert and ended up staying a few hours. Their food was amazing - especially the Benofie pie (?sorry not sure I remember how to pronounce or even spell it).

We were greeted with a lovely hostess who told us all about the cottage and herself, asked us all about us - it's as though we had known her forever. She was great!

We were seated near the live music and found ourselves loving the quartet. Then, as if the evening couldn't get any more perfect - two cloggers/irish dancers came out to entertain us. The evening was full of good service, good food, good music and entertainment!

A huge thank you to all the folks at Kate Kearney's Cottage for giving us wonderful memories of our Ireland vacation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    67
    18
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tasty meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Enjoyed a very tasty meal here after our return from our cycle to the Gap. The service from the staff was friendly and prompt with a real wish to please. The food was excellent. There was a real jolly atmosphere there. I would recommend it as a nice place to unwind and relax for a while.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very touristy, but still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Like most everyone we've met in Ireland, the hosts here were completely charming and seemingly unjaded by the throngs of tourists they must encounter. We had very efficient service, delicious, hot food, and wonderful entertainment by musicians who didn't just play music. Their interaction with the patrons was genuine and warm, and we left with the deep satisfaction of an excellent meal and a night well spent. Go, you'll really enjoy yourself.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great evening of Irish entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A group of us went there for a great evening of Irish food and entertainment.
Food was delicious and sumptuous. 3 course meals with 2 free drinks. Service was quick and excellent.
Irish music and entertainment was provided by Tuatha, and 2 dancers. Great music. Great entertainment.
Great evening.
A must for all tourists to Killarney, and Gap of Dunloe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Kate's Cottage, with it's history, is a stop worth taking. The food was great and some nights there is traditional music and dancing. Allows for you to be 'in the moment" and in the mood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kate Kearney's Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Kate Kearney's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kate Kearney's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.