We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kate Kearney's Cottage

Kate Kearney's Cottage
Gap of Dunloe | Gap of Dunloe, Killarney, Ireland
+353 64 664 4146
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bar, Restaurant, Entertainment venue, souvenir shops, Pub grub and much more. Our multi award winning banquet style themed "Irish Night" runs from March through to October, a must if your visiting. In the high season you can expect the show to run at least 6 nights a week. We're also situated close to many walking trails in the world famous Gap of Dunloe. There's Jaunting cars and horse riding within a minutes walk and at least 5 golf course within a 10 mile radius. We also cater for weddings and after wedding parties. Live music and BBQs are never too far away either during the summer
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Kate Kearney's Collage in Killarney and have always thought it was 'lovely'. But now I put pen to paper to share my view on Tripadvisor. I sometimes call for a coffee, sometimes for lunch and, just last week, had an evening meal there. The food is good and reasonable priced and the service is friendly and attentive. On a separate visit last week I was on a cycling trip with friends and needed to have my water bottle refilled - not a bother, done with ease and friendliness. I love this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    67
    18
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Touristy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's at the start of the Gap of Dunloe, so you would expect the tourists. We spent 4 hours hiking and riding a horse-drawn carriage in the Gap, so when we were done, we were grateful for a place to hoist a few pints and snack on some chips. The interior is very traditional and we ate in a little area near the fireplace across from the bar and gift shop. Service was good, chips were excellent and Guiness is Guiness. Definitely plan to stop in when doing the Gap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely location & nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped off at Kate Kearney's for a spot of lunch while touring around Kerry and after a visit to the beautiful Gap of Dunloe.

We sat outside to enjoy the sun and were pleasantly suprised by the food we ordered which was very tasty and a reasonable price.

It's a lovely spot to visit because of the scenery and a visit to Kate's is definitely worthwhile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very nice, a little touristy but good food and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

When you go into a pub or country restaurant and need to pass through a gift shop to get to the bar it can be a little disconcerting. This place is not easy to find but is worth searching out if you're in Killarney and want to get out of the madness of the town.
We went because of the music that was offered on the night we were there. The food was very good and very reasonably priced. The service was a bit slow but very friendly and accommodating.
The evening we were there we shared the room with a busload of French tourists which made hearing the music a little tough as they wanted to talk and we wanted to listen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Everything you want at a good price. Bar food was good, service good and drink good. I am going there again next week

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kate Kearney's Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Kate Kearney's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kate Kearney's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.