We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value menu with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cellar One

Cellar One
The Ross, Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
+353 64 663 1855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $12 - $49
Cuisines: European, Irish, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The stylish Cellar One Restaurant is at the heart of The Ross with truly individual design features. Leading from the Pink Lounge down the elegant stairs into Cellar One Restaurant is impressive, and from here on your evening will continue in this same vein. Chef Ian McMonagle has beautifully combined local produce with international influences which will fall nothing short of offering gastric delight. As well as great creative flair there is a clear understanding of food & flavours evident all the way through this menu. From the Cromane Mussels steamed in coconut milk with lime and ginger to the Roast Peppered Breast of Skeghanore Duck served with braised red cabbage, baked apple, honey & orange sauce the creative flair and clear understanding of food is evident all the way through this menu.
barcelona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value menu with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were recommended this restaurant by the Malton hotel and it did not disappoint. We had a lovely booth, near to where a pianist was playing classical music that was not at all over bearing. The service was good, although a little slow at times. We had been told there was a menu, and for €26 there was a choice of 2 courses (starter, main or desert) and a free cocktail. I chose from the a la carte, while my friends went for the menu. Everyone was very happy with the food we got. And the wine recommendations were top notch also. Would definitely return.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    29
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, attentive and friendly staff, super atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Went for dinner with a party of 12 friends - everyone was blown away with The Cellar. The Cellar is in the middle of Killarney so after dinner you are able to wander off for drinks to The Lane Bar or to to other nearby pubs and bars. The decor of the hotel and restaurant is modern and stylish, yet warm and inviting. The menu is varied and the food is totally amazing. Found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. As we dined atmosphere was created with someone playing the piano in the restaurant . Would really recommend this retaurant and so would each of the other 12 people that I went with.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We went back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had dinner there twice on a recent holiday in Killarney.Decor is different but modern and inviting.Excellent food with good service.
Was at a small wedding ( about 50 people) in Cellar One Restaurant in August 2010.The best wedding meal I have ever been at.As far as I can remember there was a choice of about five starters,mains and deserts not just the usual beef or salmon.
The wedding party had exclusive use of the restaurant.I would highly recommend it for a small intimate wedding.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty, tasty...very very tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Fantastic mains and desserts....best creme brulée I've ever had! Excellent service....delighted with our choice of restaurant; can highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality time with Mrs Leech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was not our first time dining in Cellar One - it is one of our favorite restaurants in Killarney.

Choosing what to eat was a difficult decision - all the dishes were attractive. The meal was delicious, the service was excellent, we got great advice on a suitable wine and best of all the piano played live created a very special occasion.

It was a quality evening with my wife. Thank you Cellar One.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellar One also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Cellar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cellar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.