We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bricin Restaurant

Bricin Restaurant
26 High Street, Killarney, Ireland
353 (0)64 34902
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We enjoyed our evening in this packed & busy upstairs restaurant. It is easy to miss, as you have to go thru a shop on the Main Street & go upstairs. The staff are very efficient and seem to actually enjoy working there. The food was good and portions were certainly filling. Would consider going again if we're in Killarney again

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    123
    31
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had the restaurant recommended to us by our Hotel(Dromhall).The shop below masks a really warm, cosy, vibrant atmosphere in a wonderfully decorated series of rooms, with tables well spaced. Booking definitely recommended as it is such a popular destination for local/visiting diners (from many nations)...as witnessed on our visit. The staff were very courteous, friendly and very keen to please their diners. Service was excellent, food was hot, very very tasty and very well presented. Wines were of very high quality. We were never rushed and allowed to enjoy the whole experience. The range of food on offer was really enticing and made choosing difficult...the BOXTY is a local speciality well worth trying....although we thoroughly enjoyed the fresh local fish and steak.
Owners obviously take a pride in their business and the quality of experience provided for their diners. We would certainly book in advance of returning to the area. A genuine GEM.
Darrell and Debbie Willington (Pembroke, W.Wales)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service but be sure to make reservation !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

BRICIN RESTAURANT

On the first floor of the establishment is a large gift shop. The second floor houses the Bricin restaurant famous for a dish known as Boxty. As we reached the entry, we were asked if we had reservations ? and informed that we could have a table for only an hour. The restaurant has
two main dinning rooms that are well decorated with mirrors, paintings, wall lamps, dark wood tables, three feet of wood paneling, rugs, fireplaces and exquisite stain glass windows. The waitresses are very quick as they scurry around multitasking - giving out menus, taking orders and picking up used plates and utensils. The pace is quick as there is a early bird special where you can get a starter aka appetizer and a main course for 20 euros. Well, I was not interested in the Boxty, and I wanted well done lamb chops. The waitress looked stunned and said are you sure you want them well done ? A few minutes later a basket of brown soda bread with walnuts and dish of butter and a tiny over priced bottle of still water magically appeared as the waitress passed by. A few minutes later, 4 delicious lamb chops and a small outstanding medley of tasty vegetables and mash potatoes appeared. We scarfed down the food and were able to leave with 20 minutes to spare before the guest who had wisely made reservations appeared. Whew, we had a great meal in record time. The Brincin serves delicious food but be sure to make reservations so you can really enjoy the food and restaurant

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Another Killarney Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Upon recommendation by our guide we headed to Bricin for dinner. The restaurant sits upstairs from a shop, and was obviously a popular spot as walkins were denied a table until 9 pm. Our meal was excellent....starters of spring rolls and crab brûlée followed by entrees of chicken curry and chicken in puff pastry. The brown bread was delicious. The meringue dessert was good....not as tasty as others we've had on our trip. Service was prompt but not rushed. And the Midleton whiskey was only $12 euros...a bargain. We haven't had anything less than great food on our 2 week trip....Bricin kept our streak going.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We just returned from two weeks in Ireland, and I have to say that our meal at Bricin was the best we had on our entire trip. We read about it in a guide book and thought we'd give it a try. We were greeted by the owner who told us there would be about a 25 minute wait. He sent us across the street to a pub that I believe was called O'Shea's for what he called "the true Irish experience." After a quick pint at the pub, we returned to find our table ready. We ordered appetizers, wine, main courses and desserts, and all were fantastic. This is definitely the place to eat boxty! Our waitress was friendly and fun, yet very professional. If I ever find myself in Killarney again, I will be eating here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bricin Restaurant also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Bricin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bricin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.