We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Vegetable Boxty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bricin Restaurant

Bricin Restaurant
26 High Street, Killarney, Ireland
353 (0)64 34902
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try the Vegetable Boxty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our Railtour Guide. What a great choice. The dining room was warm and beautifully appointed. The food was absolutely delicious. We had fried Brie for an appetizer and the vegetable Boxty, which is a large potato pancake filled with vegetables and then folded over. Yummy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    123
    31
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The steak was great and chicken filo melted in your mouth. After learning that we were Americans honeymooning over Thanksgiving, the owner (i presume) gave us a restaurant souvenir and shot of Powers whiskey with a fantastic toast. We will cherish that memory forever!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in killarney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ate here last night. Was greeted warmly by the owner who used my first name, nice friendly touch that didnt go un-noticed. The earlybird is a little limited, as expected, but we had no problem ordering off it and found the 2 courses good value. I had the carbonara which was lovely and fresh with a perfect portion size. Had a glass of wine from the huge wine list. Dessert was delightful and the highlight- its so hard to fine a restaurant with tasty home made desserts. Well done guys. Service was superb, friendly and not over attentive. Think we had Bridie, a lovely lady.

The setting is fab also, perfect for christmas and the tree is already up- love it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We didn't make a reservation and managed to have a table for two, it was early on a November evening though! The menu's not big but the selection of meals was sufficient. We had the Lamb Boxty and the Vegetarian Boxty, both were very tasty and satisfying. Value for money and excellent quality, well worth the visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere recommended by locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ate here while visiting relatives who grew up in killarney. Appreciated that they had a vegetarian choice that was delicious and not an after thought

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bricin Restaurant also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Bricin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bricin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.