We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant

Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant
Kenmare Place | Killarney, Republic of Ireland, Killarney 0000, Ireland
0035364-6631816
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 152 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcoming visitors and locals alike for over 100 years, Hannigans Bar & Restaurant is one of Killarney's best-loved and much-acclaimed historic drinking and dining establishments.Enjoy all-day dining from 10.00am to 9.00pm with superb, locally sourced produce, cooked to perfection and served in cosy, candle-lit surroundings with a friendly and professional service. A la Carte & Evening Specials Menus - Served from 6.00pm to 9.00pmLunch Menu - Served from 12.30pm to 3.00pmSandwiches, Toasties, Wraps & Snacks - Served from 10.00am to 6.00pmHannigans Restaurant Killarney -A dining experience featuring the finest seasonal Irish ingredients, beautifully executed and dedicated to diners who enjoy comfort,atmosphere, superb service, reasonable prices and most of all,good, simple food. The Brewery Restaurant- Where opulent wood panelling, ornate ceilings and delicate crystal chandeliers echo fond memories of times bygone and sets the perfect scene for freshly prepared breakfast, candlelit evening dining or contact us about private gatherings of up to 100 people. The Brasserie - Keep an eye on the Jaunting Cars with freshly brewed coffee and homemade scones... the perfect way to start your day! Also the perfect private party venue with private bar. The Library -Enjoy the joy of Afternoon Tea with a friend in The Library or curl up with your favourite book and a mug of hot chocolate. Contact us below to book afternoon tea.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
628 reviews 628 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

All fresh seafood and the chowder was superb. Pleasant stop and a great location. Very nice staff and fair prices.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi JimOB1,

Good to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. Thanks for taking the time to review us. Wishing you well.

Warm Regards,

Jonathan McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    86
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food highly recommended ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were here last night 5th August. We had been a few years ago and loved it so we said we would try it again.
The service was exceptional, very friendly and engaging (might not be every irish persons cup of tea but it what you have to do for the visitors..)
The food was amazing. I had a chicken spring roll to start and chicken stir fry for main. Yes it sounds plain but what I absolutely loved was that it was made with seasonal IRISH vegetables carrots, celery, red onion, broccoli cauliflower. It was such a surprise as you just expect Chinese veg. My boyfriend had soup and steak and the were equally as good. Desert was shared malteeser cheesecake and it just finished it all off perfectly.
Thank you for a great night and we will definatley return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi atoolbox,

Thanks for the brilliant review. It's always encouraging to see repeat diners. We try to keep the restaurant as traditional and Irish as possible so you will always find lots of Irish food and seasonal Irish vegetables. Once you left satisfied that's the main thing and I'm glad to see we managed to achieve that. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Jonathan McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Went back twice in a row!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough great things about Hannigans. Admittedly a very picky family, we were told this was a great spot for dinner because we didn't want to eat any more greasy pub food. The music here was unreal- so beautiful. We sat in the back room (not as pub-y) and our meal was fantastic. I had roast chicken which was so delicious, my mom the salmon, sisters and father chicken stir fry and duck. We also ordered goat cheese and brie apps which were equally fantastic. Our first night in town we ate here and went again tonight! The staff is delightful. Praise and thanks to Joe and Brendan for a lovely family evening. Go enjoy an evening here- now!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi Taylor G,

Thanks ever so much for your glowing review. If you are a picky family as you said and you and your family went back twice in a row to us, then I know we are doing something right. I'm glad you enjoyed the music and the service from our staff. Hopefully we see you again in the future. Wishing you all the best.

Warm Regards,

Jonathan McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just average for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We read so many wonderful reviews that we decided to give it a try. We ordered the hamburger which stated it was on a sesame seed bun. When it arrived it was served open face with three very under cooked fried onion rings on top that were cold and greasy. Had they put on the menu that is was open face we could have made a more informed decision when ordering. We just didn't feel the fun pub energy like we did in several other Killarney spots.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear WAtravelbug

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience in Hannigans Bar & Restaurant. On this occassion I apologise for the misunderstanding regarding your experience and I will bring it to the attention of the Head of Department at our next meeting.

I am very suprised to hear the comments about the onion rings being cold and greasy as we cook every dish to order and this was no doubt an exception. This matter will be further looked into however.

Hannigan's Bar is known widely for its Traditional Pub energy and we also have live music 7 nights a week. I appreciate that this is not of much consolation to you, however I do hope that you enjoyed your time in Killarney.

Again we thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts as customer feedback is very important to us.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Superfood, not cheap. Great service. Got us super cheese though not on menu. Tara Coffey superb waitress

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi Gearoidmuar,

Thanks for your review. It was nice that you managed to get a superb cheese that wasn't on the menu. We always aim to do our very best for our customers and we always try and deliver on any reasonable requests that they might have. I'll be sure to tell Tara the great report you gave her when I see her, All the best.

Warm Regards,

Jonathan McCarthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.