We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place , great service, but prices too high” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant

Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant
Kenmare Place | Killarney, Republic of Ireland, Killarney 0000, Ireland
0035364-6631816
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
Cuisines: European, Irish, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcoming visitors and locals alike for over 100 years, Hannigans Bar & Restaurant is one of Killarney's best-loved and much-acclaimed historic drinking and dining establishments.Enjoy all-day dining from 10.00am to 9.00pm with superb, locally sourced produce, cooked to perfection and served in cosy, candle-lit surroundings with a friendly and professional service. A la Carte & Evening Specials Menus - Served from 6.00pm to 9.00pmLunch Menu - Served from 12.30pm to 3.00pmSandwiches, Toasties, Wraps & Snacks - Served from 10.00am to 6.00pmHannigans Restaurant Killarney -A dining experience featuring the finest seasonal Irish ingredients, beautifully executed and dedicated to diners who enjoy comfort,atmosphere, superb service, reasonable prices and most of all,good, simple food. The Brewery Restaurant- Where opulent wood panelling, ornate ceilings and delicate crystal chandeliers echo fond memories of times bygone and sets the perfect scene for freshly prepared breakfast, candlelit evening dining or contact us about private gatherings of up to 100 people. The Brasserie - Keep an eye on the Jaunting Cars with freshly brewed coffee and homemade scones... the perfect way to start your day! Also the perfect private party venue with private bar. The Library -Enjoy the joy of Afternoon Tea with a friend in The Library or curl up with your favourite book and a mug of hot chocolate. Contact us below to book afternoon tea.
ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place , great service, but prices too high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

the pub is great, spotless , great service, fast delivery of food . but the Lunch prices served in the bar are way too high including 4.50 euros for a pot of tea for 2... that 's 2 tea bags and hot water. Kids toasties at 5.50 each... too high for off season trading in

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear polo22,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to see that you found Hannigans to be a great place with good and timely service. Our menu prices would be considered good value for the high quality produce that we use. With regard to the prices you mention, a pot of tea for two is €4.50, being twice the price of a regular tea for one which is €2.25. We are happy to offer complimentary top-ups for those who wish to relax and chat a little more over their tea. Our wholesome toasted sandwiches are off the main adult menu and are freshly made to order, with a wide choice of high quality fillings and are served with side salad and tasty Irish potato crisps.

We thank you again for your review and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,
Tanya O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    74
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My family and I ate there while we stayed in Killarney. Great Service and food. Their Potato and Leek soup was fabulous, as well as the dessert. I would recommend it to anybody staying in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear ElisabethJane26,

Many thanks for your kind review. “Great Food and Service” is just the type of heading that we like to see! I am delighted you would be happy to recommend Hannigans to visitors to the area, as this is a great compliment to our team.

Again, thank you for your review and I hope we have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Tanya O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an upscale atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We ate at Hannigan's with a group of friends while on a tour of Ireland. It's definitely more than a pub. The food and service were very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Kathy714k,

Many thanks for taking the time to give feedback on your recent visit to Hannigans. As you say, Hannigans is a traditional Irish pub with open fires, live music and cosy corners, however we also have delicious all-day-dining with carefully chosen dishes to suit all tastes.
I hope that the remainder of your trip was enjoyable.

With thanks and kind regards,
Tanya O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service Is 5 Star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We wandered in to the restaurant after a long day of sightseeing and were very impressed. The staff treat you like I've never been waited on before. We went back a second night just to enjoy the royal treatment! The food was top-notch and the atmosphere was perfect. We highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Twosteppin2dave,

Thank you for your superb review of our service, food and atmosphere. We are always delighted to see customers returning for a repeat visit as it assures us we are doing something right!

We hope that the remainder of your trip was enjoyable and wish you safe travels,
With thanks and kind regards,
Tanya O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service Right In Your Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the International Hotel In Killarney and the first night we were too tired to go traipsing around looking for someplace to eat so we decided to dine in the hotel.

Good choice. We were a party of six and four of us met in the adjacent bar for a drink while waiting for a table and the final couple. Shortly after our drinks arrived, our table was ready. They held it until the last couple showed up.

Everyone enjoyed their food. Most of us ordered seafood; I had hake, an Atlantic ocean fish similar to cod or haddock. The service was slower than you get in the U.S. but we were in Ireland so we just relaxed and enjoyed our dinner and drinks because we were in no hurry to go anywhere. One person ordered fries with their dinner and they brought out a family size portion for the table. This was great because it was late and I was hungry and probably ate 1/3 of them.

The house cabernet sauvignon was excellent and the Irish coffee was easily the best I had on our 8 day trip.

You won't be wowed by the food or service, but you will enjoy a very good meal with good size portions at reasonable prices in the comfort of your hotel. After dinner go back into the bar and watch the latest match on TV or listen to the music of the group performing that night.

All in all, a very enjoyable experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear tomterpfan,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience in Hannigans Bar & Restaurant.

We do indeed have a great selection of seafood on our lunchtime and evening menus, including Oven-Roasted Monkfish Tail, Baked Fillet of Cod, Pan Seared Salmon, Lemon Sole Fillets, Surf ‘n Turf and a Seafood Pancake.

We are always very focused on offering a superb wine selection and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Cabernet Sauvignon. Of course, it is every Irish pubs aim to serve the best of Irish Coffees and we are delighted that you rated it as the best of your trip and will pass this news to our bar-team!

I am glad to see that your group enjoyed the live music and sports coverage and hope that the rest of your trip also went very well.

With many thanks and kind regards,
Tanya O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.