We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clayton Hotel to your Saves list
Clayton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Excellent staff, great food, great bar. Always made to feel very welcome. Comfortable rooms. A fab irish welcome. Stayed here on 6 occasions. A very consistent hotel. 10 mins by cab to shop street. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear valleyrambler,

Thank you so much for both your most recent review and also for keeping on coming back to us. Your support and patronage is very important to me and I hope there will be many more times in the future when you get a chance to stay with us again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    375
    126
    36
    19
See reviews for
242
395
37
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at the Clayton Hotel in Ballybrit for three nights in August 2014. At first,we were disappointed with our room for it was designed for handicapped people. We reported our dissatisfaction to Brenda et the front desk. A few minutes later, we were given a key to an absolutely gorgeous room. (Room 403) that room was the most spacious room we'd ever had with 2 leather couches, a soaking tub and awesome shower. The bed was excellent and the hotel was quiet. We recommend this hotel for its value and responsiveness to the concerns of its guests. When we checked out, we learned about a 55 Euro charge to our room for a collect call. The lady at the desk was equally concerned and a few minutes later, she told us that we had been unfairly charged. We were happy that they were quick to recognize their error and accept responsibility.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Gilbert P,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and it's great to learn that any issues you had were dealt with promptly and without fuss by the reception team. It works much better for us when people raise issues if and when they arise as it allows us the opportunity to address the problem there and then. Certainly all the team here are very focused on delivering an excellent service to our guests and I hope in this case the positives far outweighed any minor issues that arose.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had an early appointment in Conemara on Saturday morning and decided to break the journey with an overnight in Galway on the Friday night. Using an internet search site we found the Clayton Hotel offered what we had in mind. The hotel is a product of the Celtic Tiger Years. It is a modern 4 Star hotel on the outskirts of Galway City. It is spacious facility with ample parking. The room had a two double beds and a separate sitting area with an in wall swivel TV that could be watched from the beds or the sitting area. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was powerful. In its 7 years the corridors and public areas have got a little grubby with stains on the carpets and chips on the paintwork. The lower level leisure centre has a steam room, sauna and pool which although strangely shaped (long and narrow) provided enjoyable entertainment for the afternoon. The striking feature of the Hotel was the friendliness of the staff. Coming from the capital where front line staff are rarely indigenous, we have become accustomed to a non Irish welcome in Ireland. However, In particular Vincent in the restaurant was the epitome of an Irish welcome and we felt happy that the future of Irelands tourist industry is entrusted to people like him

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear soupydublin,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your time with us, certainly I'll be sharing your comments with all the team here and I know they will be thrilled with your recognition of their hard work. I hope you find another reason to visit again soon.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the Clayton Hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed the room, staff and general hospitality. What we did not enjoy was the hotel's Wi-Fi system's complete failure to support our iPhones and iPads. When we complained to the staff we were told that the inability for their Wi-Fi to support Apple devices was well known, but for some reason they were unable or unwillling to solve the problem. Their suggestion was for us to reboot our devices because sometimes that worked. Well, it didn't.

So for three days we were unable to read any emails, upload our fabulous Galway pictures, or make Wi-Fi enabled calls.

It seems that if we were successfully able to use Wi-Fi aboard a moving Irish Railway System railcar between major cities, we should be able to do the same in a hotel room that's standing still.

For this reason alone I rated their service as average.

Room Tip: A very long way from the airport, city center, or major shopping areas. Plan on taking a local bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

RECEPTION/CHECK-IN:
When we went to check-in we got a receptionist named "Brenda" , she was okay but the other receptionist next to her seemed to be much more organised and a bit nicer we never even got as much as "Enjoy your stay" just "alright then" but anyways , Check-In was quick and easy and Lobby area was lovely and bright.

THE ROOM:
We were given room number 323 on the 3rd floor , We were pleasantly surprised! , The room was huge and very spacious! , It was a corner room so that's why it was big and it was great! , The bed was so comfortable! , The shower was lovely and the room was spotless and we had a lovely view of some of the city too which was a bonus!.

THE FOOD:
We ate in the bar and the food was just DIVINE! , It was so nice couldn't fault anything and the staff were so friendly which was a nice touch to the hotel :-).

FACILITIES:
The Hotel has a Swimming Pool located in the basement level , I have to say it is quite small but nice at the same time , There is also a sauna and steam room but no jacuzzi however...


BREAKFAST:
Breakfast was just fabulous! , Excellent breakfast I have ever experienced in a 4 star Hotel and the staff were so helpful so well done on that!.

STAFF:
The Staff were so friendly in the Restaurant and during Breakfast and also very helpful.

Overall , I really enjoyed my stay at The Clayton and will certainly be returning!.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Well we had a corner room on the third floor and it was quiet and spacious if you had the window shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear PRIVATE A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. Your commentary is very detailed and really helpful in terms of learning where we got things right and also highlighting a few areas we need to work on. I do hope it won't be too long before you are back to stay again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel has very nice rooms, both clean spacious & modern. Bathroom is very nice which I always judge first, rooms come with flat screen TV & a selection of channels & also air con all of which are a plus.
Staff were friendly throughout both of my stays. The leisure centre is quite small & I dont imagine would take a crowd. Hotel is a bit out of the town however across the road is a shop for anything you may need.
Overall, it is a very nice hotel & great value in off peak times.

Room Tip: Perhaps, request a room not facing the road as it may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sarah_PM8749DM,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. I know it was nearly a year ago since you last stayed but if anything we've improved on what we do and I'm sure if you were to stay again you would be equally as impressed. It's great to get comments like your no matter how long we're waiting for them. See you again in September?

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had read reviews online of the hotel and really was looking forward to the luxury I thought we would be experiencing. From the minute we entered the hotel we felt unwelcomed. We arrived 40 minutes after check in time and were told that only one of the 4 rooms was ready. No indication of when the other rooms would be ready was given to us, no offer to take the luggage, we waited in the bar for over an hour and 2 more of the rooms were ready then. We then decided to get food in the bar as at this stage our plan for the day had been ruined, we asked for menus and nobody came to take our order, half an hour later we asked someone to serve us. The food came quite quickly and was very tasty but the chips that were supposed to come with my meal did not arrive until I was finished eating. After this we were able to check in, the room itself was lovely, the shower was nice and the bed was very comfortable, however when we first went up to the room the cleaners were next door and there was a load of glasses, bottles and plates left in the hallway, they must have been from the rooms they were cleaning, these were still there when we left the following morning. We went down to have coffee and scones in the lobby before we were checking out, we ordered these from reception and they did not arrive for 45 minutes, other guests were also waiting too and when a guest who had ordered after us got theirs we asked the waitress were they coming and she was shockingly rude, she then came over with fruit scones and not plain scones and simply said 'will these do?'. Also, the hotel does not have a residents bar, or so we were told. Overall, I just was so disappointed; it's the first hotel I have stayed in that I would not stay in again.

Room Tip: Our room with a balcony was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear AMH1492,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. I was disappointed to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay, you've raised some valid points for us to mull over and I'm sure it will result in all the team here working harder to ensure we don't let ourselves down in this manner again. Your experiences certainly aren't typical and I'm confident that if indeed you were to stay again you would find things much improved.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clayton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel

Address: Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 Star Hotel with Leisure Facilities, Free Car Parking and Broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clayton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.