We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pack of Hens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clayton Hotel to your Saves list
Clayton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pack of Hens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We arrived for a one night stay for my sisters hen. We had a package which included a cocktail making class, Dinner, B&B and VIP entrance to the night club, reduced rates for entry and a bottle of bubbly! The rooms and fab, clean and bathrooms are gorgeous although our room had everything my sisters had no fridge and one of the other rooms had no iron but as there was 8 of us sharing 4 rooms we all got ourselves sorted.
The cocktail making class was brilliant and although we seemed to make Poor Oliver nervous he powered through and showed us a load of different kinds! He was very good to be dealing with 8 hyper women on a hen. I would say though that the room let down the experience, felt like I was in a meeting.....
Dinner was amazing, all our food was served together and delicious. I cant remember our servers name but she was very attentive as were the other staff and considering there were 3 other hen parties in we felt well looked after. Breakfast didn't disappoint either (Although one of our hens didnt get a tomato or mushrooms) I would stay again, Staff make the place!

Room Tip: Organise a taxi to get home before going out in Galway at night as the taxis are hard to get out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear tazpio81,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review after what must have been a very busy but obviously enjoyable weekend for you. It's great to learn you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I'm sure Oliver will appreciate the nod of recognition. I'll take your comments about the room you were in on board and feed that back to our bar manager. As you rightly guessed we use meeting rooms to accommodate these cocktail classes but perhaps there's more we can do to enhance the atmosphere a bit. This kind of feedback is really helpful, thank you.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    375
    126
    36
    19
See reviews for
242
395
37
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights midweek (Monday-Wednesday) in July. Traveled with a friend. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly . Rooms were lovely and well cleaned and tidied everyday by the cleaning staff ! Very efficient staff in all areas of the hotel !! Would fully recommend eating in the hotel in the tribe restaurant . Would like to highly commend our waitress (can't remember her name, think it may have been Maxine?!) she was very polite and served us with such a happy smile :) the bar food served in the hotel is also up to a very high standard and is reasonably priced. Breakfast is buffet style with a range of hot foods,cereals,fruit and pastries. When we stayed we went down to breakfast around 9.30am and it was quiet enough but we stayed midweek and as the restaurant isn't very large I can imagine weekends&high season it can get quite busy!!
There is free wifi in the hotel, however it appears it doesn't always work with apple devices ?! I couldn't get my iPod touch to connect to the wifi unfortunately but was able to use the wifi with my Samsung phone ?!
The swimming pool&changing rooms are extremely small but kids would happily play in the pool.
The location is very convenient. The 403 bus pulls up right outside the hotel and this will bring you directly into eyre square (just near the train station) very handy indeed !! We stayed for 4 days and took the bus everyday and were able to do plenty and go lots of places without a car. Well served by public transport which is a major bonus. There is also a dunnes stores and a KFC located directly opposite the hotel.
Would happily recommend the hotel to anyone and would like to thank all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable !!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Megs97,

Thank you so much for posting such a comprehensive and positive review of your stay in the Clayton hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us so much and you got to get out and explore Galway and all the great attractions that help make this such a popular destination. I really do appreciate your recommendation and I hope you left something else still to do in the west so you'll find an excuse to visit again soon.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Clayton Hotel three months ago and I was so impressed with the whole experience that I returned for another visit. I consider the staff in any hotel, to be key to a guests overall experience and the staff in the Clayton Hotel certainly don't disappoint. From arrival to departure each staff member knew how to do their job to the highest degree and this was consistent throughout the whole visit. One staff member, called Stephanie, excelled! The rooms are spotless and beds are really comfortable. Food was lovely and all tastes are catered for. I will definitely be returning many times in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear MDoolin,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your most recent stay in the Clayton. As a returning guest your opinion is especially valuable to me as it's being able to consistently meet and exceed the expectations of all our guests, new and repeat that's so important to what we do here. Your kind comments about the staff, food rooms etc. are really welcome and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clayton at some point in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Large bright hotel, lovely place for a coffee and meeting place. Cannot thank Niamh on reception for being so professional and helpful, she went completely out of her way to be very welcoming and ensure that we were well cared for. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear EMC40,

Thank you so much for your brief review of your visit to the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted that all was as expected and I know Niamh will be very grateful for your recognition of the excellent job she does for us here in the hotel. I do hope it won't be too long before you are back again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at the Clayton hotel in June, the rooms are just fab, so clean and the beds are very comfortable! breakfast was really good although i couldn't say the same for dinner the night before unfortunately! The hotel is a good 5-10 minute drive from the city centre which i didn't really mind but not ideal for going out in Galway at night time. great car park at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Lauram1261,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton hotel. I'm glad that everything about the rooms met with your approval and I appreciate your enjoyment of breakfast but rather disappointed with your comments on dinner the previous evening. I know that my F&B Manager was trying to contact you to get more details as I'm sure your feedback would prove helpful. If you do get the chance by all means please contact me directly on rory.fitzpatrick@clayton.ie.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It is a very large, modern hotel in Galway. True - It is far from the lovely city center but it has its own advantages. Big rooms, nice food, good service, large parking lot. close to shopping center - very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear nadi O o,

Thank you for posting a brief review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and I hope it won't be too long before you find a reason to stay once again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were here for 3 nights for a wedding nearby, the clayton was one of the hotels on the list given to us and we were pleased that it was the one we chose, we had room 205 which was very spacious and spotlessly clean, the room was quiet and the aircon was a godsend as was the free wifi, we really enjoyed our stay and all the staff were quick with a smile and a hello and were a credit to the hotel. We would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in a large group and spread over different floors and aspects, all the rooms were of a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Baljordan,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you choose to stay with us from what no doubt was a long list. Your kind words on the staff and the rooms are really appreciated.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clayton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel

Address: Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 Star Hotel with Leisure Facilities, Free Car Parking and Broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clayton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.