We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel in Galway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clayton Hotel to your Saves list
Clayton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel in Galway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a magnificent 4 star hotel, very modern, large spacious room, all mod cons, lovely modern bathroom. The room had air conditioning which was a massive help as the room got quite stuffy, , bar food good, The reception team have always a smile and eager to assist. The team in the restaurant are superb, waiters, waitress and food was very good . Breakfast was buffet style, everything from a full fry up to variety of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, croissants, plenty to choose from. Live entertainment in bar at weekend, very nice friendly bar staff. Recommend this hotel and would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: I stayed at the back of hotel and it was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    401
    139
    38
    21
See reviews for
256
419
39
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay in the Clayton, we stayed as part of a package - B&B + dinner. The rooms were lovely, modern & clean. The dinner was great, really good choices on the set menu too. The breakfast was fantastic, probably the best breakfast spread I've come across! There wasn't one member of staff that wasn't nice, they were all really friendly & good at their jobs, this was across the board - from reception to the bar to the restaurant. I will def be going back there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Lovely 4 star hotel, very modern, large spacious room, all mod cons, lovely modern bathroom. Room had air conditioning, major plus as rooms get quite stuffy, I asked for a quiet room and this was. We ate in bar and restaurant, bar food good, restaurant food good, service bit slow, busy place. Breakfast was buffet style, everything from a full fry up to variety of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, croissants, plenty to choose from. Live entertainment in bar at weekend, very nice friendly bar staff. We got taxi into town (10 min trip) during day for shopping (plenty!) and nights for the great buzz that Galway has to offer so expect to pay anything between €12 to €18 for a taxi, unless u share! Love, love, love, Galway. Recommend this hotel and would stay here again no problem.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have had an extended stay at the Clayton and found the team,location, excellent. The reception team have always a smile and eager to assist. The team in the restaurant are superb, waiters, waitress and food is very good. Now for the un sung people, the cleaning and night staff. The rooms are always extremely clean and I know I only have to make a call to the note staff and they will assist. I would highly recommend the Clayton for business trip or family break.

Many thanks to the team

Room Tip: All rooms are big and have all mod cons. Room 321 is my favorite as it is corner room and have couch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Travelled to galway last weekend for a hen party... there was 16 girls who all stayed in the hotel and everyone was delighted with the place. The staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and spacious and the location to the city was perfect. I must mention a certain staff member named Aisling she had dealt with me from january trying to organise the hen party and she went above and beyond the call of duty.. the bar was cosy and the food in the resturant was excellent as was the breakfast. This hotel is a must stay for anybody traveling to Galway I really cannot fault it one bit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferbane
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Really enjoyed our night here. We booked a one night package with breakfast and evening meal and it was great value. Check in and out were very efficient and all the staff we encounterered were very nice and helpful. I loved our room, it was big and spacious with 2 whole walls of windows which I really liked. The meal in the resturant was delicious and we had a few drinks in the bar after too. I dont have a bad word to say about this hotel and will definetly return in the future.

Room Tip: We had an end of corridor room which was very large with huge windows, loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

not great location - too far from town. breakfast ok- awful coffee. people were very nice though and for the most part, service was good! prob not stay again unless the rates are really cheap. Galway was nice though - we were there for st paddys day. great time in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clayton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel

Address: Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 Star Hotel with Leisure Facilities, Free Car Parking and Broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clayton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.