We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clayton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clayton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 56 hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with friends and I have to say the facilities were excellent and the rooms very spacious, with very comfortable beds and A/C. The food was excellent and there was a good atmosphere in the bar. Its only a short Taxi ride into the city center. The hotel was spotless and the staff very friendly, helpful and efficient. The pool is smaller than it looks on the website but is still adequate. Would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    311
    111
    34
    12
See reviews for
214
345
31
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, room was great with a lovely balcony. Staff were pleasant and friendly. A short drive from Galway city centre. Breakfast as well as room service were great. A small mall with general amenities across the road. Nothing but excellent service from check in right through to check out. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Overall, I had a fantastic time at the Clayton Hotel. I stayed here two nights at the weekend and my experience was flawless. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I had both dinner and breakfast in the hotel, and I couldn't fault either meal in any way. The atmosphere in the hotel was very welcoming and friendly. The location is great as its just outside Galway City centre, and a taxi costs roughly around €10/€12 to head into Eyre Square. The rooms were bright, spacious and the bed was very comfortable! Perfect hotel for a nice relaxing get away to Galway!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

To start off the rooms were very nice and clean. I found the staff to be quite friendly. However, there were a few problems.
When I went to the swimming pool at 6pm on a Saturday evening, there were no lanes marked out for swimming and the pool was full of children, inflatable tubes, and balls. Also, the sauna was cold and there was no steam in the steam room. Now this next issue wasn't a huge problem but ABBA was playing on repeat in the gym while I trained.
In the hotel room, the shower in the morning wasn't great as there wasn't enough hot water for two of us. When I looked at the room service menu, I saw that there was a charge of 5 euro to the total of any order to be delivered to the room. 5 euro seemed a bit steep since the restaurant was about 100ft from my room.
There is a 30 euro charge for a 2 hour late check out which I didn't avail of. The breakfast the next day was 10 euro which was a good deal. However it would have cost 21 euro to have it sent to the room.
Overall, if your just looking for a room for the night you could do worse than the Clayton but just make sure you get it cheap!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Room was very nice. Hotel was easy to find, Super comfortable bed. Thanks for 2 more towels we needed for the beach. Very friendly staff in the restaurant and reception. Special thanks to Manuela at the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Upon arrival to Galway, the hotel was easy to find with ample signage. Upon entering the hotel, the lobby was clean and well looked after. The staff greeted us with warm smiles and a smooth and efficient check in, and to our surprise, the hotel had upgraded us to an Executive King Room for two nights! The hotel also provides ample underground parking complimentary.

The rooms were very well decorated, spacious, modern and very clean and to our great satisfaction they offered in room A/C and complimentary Wi-Fi! The breakfast buffet in the morning was good and offered lots of options. Stopped off in the lounge on the second night and it was packed. Service was still spot on and friendly and they had live music to our surprise.

The only drawback to this hotel is it is a drive to the city center and there are not may options for dining or entertainment unless you have a car.

All in all, I loved staying at the Clayton hotel and should I find myself in Galway, I will be staying at the Clayton Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice hotel. Lunch in the bar was a bit bland.
Clean modern rooms. Very friendly bar staff, which is always nice. Hotel is a little bit out of the city but not a problem for us really as we were travelling around Clare too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clayton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel

Address: Old Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#11 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 Star Hotel with Leisure Facilities, Free Car Parking and Broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Clayton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.