We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and GF friendly! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar

Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar
19 Middle Street, Galway, Ireland
+353 91 561 610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 329 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We at Vina Mara are dedicated to providing a friendly dining experience in Galway. All our menus are created using fresh Irish produce and an excellent selection of wines. Our aim is to create great food at great value prices and a warm friendly service for all of our customers. We are open Monday to Saturday for lunch and dinner. On Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evening all our main courses are just €10. Great quality, great service, great value.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious and GF friendly! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Was so impressed with the price and the quality of the food at Vina Mara. I was also impressed that the entire menu is laid out as gluten free, vegetarian and vegan. It made it so much easier as a newly GF person to have a lovely meal. I had the lamb and my partner had the duck. So tasty! Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    97
    29
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have been there more than 3 tims.
Great food, nice staff, good prices and yummy food! Never been disappointed
I definitely recommend this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable value. Excellent Quality. Other Galway restaurants take note!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Myself, my wife and son had an evening meal in this fabulous restaurant on 23-July-2014 during the Galway Arts Festival. We availed of the "Value Menu" where EVERY main course on the normal A la Carte menu is only €10, even the Sirloin Steak (where other restaurants charge a surcharge for steak as part of an Early Bird Menu). The quality of our Sirloin Steak, Chicken and Lentil Burger was excellent. I was expecting portion sizes to be reduced at that price, but there was plenty on the plates to satisfy our appetites. All other restaurants in Galway should take a leaf out of this restaurants book. Monday to Wednesday are usually quietish times for a restaurant, but Vina Mara was packed that Wednesay evening. The restaurant is just 1 street over from the main shopping street in Galway and was a lovely oasis of calm during the hectic Festival week. It was the best meal we had all week, and cost only two thirds of the price we paid for other (sometimes inferior) meals. Service and ambiance were all excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and attentive. We will definitely be revisiting this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“High quality and affordable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The food in this restaurant is very high quality, delicious and on a Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday, it costs next to nothing! The waitresses are very friendly and looked after our group very well. I got a huge steak with the best mash potatoes I've have in a very long time for only TEN euro.. I couldn't believe the value. Thanks to Vina Mara staff, I had a wonderful birthday and they even epy my cake in the fridge for me to collect the following day!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was here during Galway Arts Week with a group and a lunch was organised for us at this restaurant.All twenty of us were very happy with the food and price. The main courses were 7.50. euros and there was a good choice. The group ordered Gourmet sausages, curry, salmon, spiced lentil burger and more and all went down well. A glass of good, well chilled Sauvignon Blanc was an additional 5 euros. The lunch kept us going through a busy afternoon. Pleasant service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.