We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seafood restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McDonagh's

McDonagh's
22 Quay Street, Galway, Ireland
091-565001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 359 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Irish, Fish & Chips, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Baked fish n chips without a drop of oil was very delicious! Raw oysters was very fresh... Chowder was also very tasty... All these with a bottle of water costed around 20 euro... I saw a number of locals there...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    317
    132
    41
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Portion size almost halved.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've been going to mcdonaghs for more than 10 years. In the last 2 years the portions have started to shrink. As far as fish and chips goes, Mcdonaghs is expensive. This was always offset, though, by the massive portions. Now, the portions are so small that I'm not even full after eating.

The fish is literally half the size it was a few years ago. Despite halving the size, the portion is more expensive than it used to be. The plates are now tiny to make it look like there's more food than there is. A portion of fish and chips is now smaller than a kids fish and chips in any chipshop in the UK. A kids fish and chips in the UK though, is around £3.50. In Mcdonaghs a fish and chips with drink is more than €9.

Many of my friends have said the same thing. The smaller plates aren't fooling people. Until either the prices drop, or the portions increase, I won't be returning. Mcdonaghs has to stop neglecting it's regulars or it will turn into a tourist trap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Have been here for both lunch and dinner during our trips to Galway. Its always really really busy. The staff are so friendly and really helpful with menu choices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“As fresh as a daisy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Came here first five years ago and to my mind it was even better! The fish, whilst not the largest of pieces, was fresh, had a lovely flavour and the batter nice and crispy. The chips were freshly fried and an ample portion at that. The mushy peas were up to Ramsden standards, Harry that is, the pot of tea was large enough for four people to have two cups each and it was lovely and strong too. The only disappointments were no white bread and butter, we were offered wholemeal scones but we declined, and the tartare sauce had "something missing" and was rather watery.

Friendly staff but not locals. One waitress I believe was American, the other from Eastern Europe, but they were friendly, attentive and very helpful to one of our party who arrived in a mobility scooter.

The restaurant was busy with a queue for the take away counter and the restaurant thankfully were able to seat us immediatey. We were there around 5.30pm on a Friday. The bill seemed a bit steep for fish and chips but turned out to be average for a meal out.

It was a great start to our Irish getaway and we scored it 7/10 (mainly due to the size of the fish).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in the COUNTRY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Seriously, anyone who is anyone in Galway knows this is THEE place for fish and chips. Grab a takeaway and enjoy down the Sparch or after a heavy night this place is the cure!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McDonagh's also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to McDonagh's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McDonagh's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.