We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy & delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ard Bia at Nimmo's

Ard Bia at Nimmo's
Spanish Arch | Long Walk, Galway, Ireland
091561114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 328 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ard Bia at Nimmo���s restaurant in Galway City enjoys one of Galway���s most romantic locations in a gorgeous upstairs room with lovely views of the river, hard by the Spanish Arch. This restaurant is famous in Galway and beyond for the stupendous quality of its cuisine and its professional and welcoming service, all in a charming setting. The d��cor is rustic boho chic with quirky details. You might find fresh local garden blooms on your table in a tin coffee pot, for instance. The seasonally-changing Irish/Moroccan/North African eclectic menu blows you away with dishes like the Gubeen antipasto dish, all made with the finest and freshest of local ingredients. Ard Bia���s commitment to live and modern art make it a happening place, though if you just want to come for the great food and service and see why the restaurant won Regional Restaurant of the Year from Food & Wine Magazine, no one will mind.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cozy & delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were a group of 15, the place is quaint so the space was limited but was cozy nonetheless.
The menu was short but interesting.
The food was GREAT!
One of the best Seafood Chowders I've ever had.
Everyone was quite happy with all meals.
There was a nice selection of drinks and all the baked goods looked fantastic.
I only had a bite of the Ginger cake and it was delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    185
    56
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Always reliable. Great choice of food, including vegitarian options. Lunch very good and Evening meals are also excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stopping by on a cold, rainy weekday afternoon for tea and calm. Both were provided, though the muzak kept changing genres (from 80s beats to blues), often with hilarious juxtapositions, and broke the atmosphere only once or twice. Friendly but reserved staff, great tea and decent pastries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited on a quiet Tuesday evening and we felt like we were at home. It is very atmospheric and the menu is much more interesting than many restaurants I have visited recently. Every dish is slightly different to what you might normally expect, which so long as you aren't focused on a standard formula is perfect. Prices aren't cheap with a three course meal and a bottle of wine likely to be around €120 plus service. However on a cold very late winters night it hit the sweets pot. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner, will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just had dinner here on the recommendation of the customer we were meeting.
Myself & a work colleague who both travel a lot & also both enjoy our food! We didn't have a booking but they managed to fit us in. We managed the full three courses off the menu & left very full & satisfied. My main was Spicy Monkfish & that was truly fantastic, great flavours. I finished with Nougat Parfait which was also great. The dessert was served with a RED dessert wine which was new to both of us, interesting, not sure if I'd go for that again, I think I prefer white. The overall bill for what we had was very reasonable as well. Staff were pleasant & service prompt.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard Bia at Nimmo's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Ard Bia at Nimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard Bia at Nimmo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.