We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do try it...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ard Bia at Nimmo's

Ard Bia at Nimmo's
Spanish Arch | Long Walk, Galway, Ireland
091561114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 354 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Ard Bia at Nimmo���s restaurant in Galway City enjoys one of Galway���s most romantic locations in a gorgeous upstairs room with lovely views of the river, hard by the Spanish Arch. This restaurant is famous in Galway and beyond for the stupendous quality of its cuisine and its professional and welcoming service, all in a charming setting. The d��cor is rustic boho chic with quirky details. You might find fresh local garden blooms on your table in a tin coffee pot, for instance. The seasonally-changing Irish/Moroccan/North African eclectic menu blows you away with dishes like the Gubeen antipasto dish, all made with the finest and freshest of local ingredients. Ard Bia���s commitment to live and modern art make it a happening place, though if you just want to come for the great food and service and see why the restaurant won Regional Restaurant of the Year from Food & Wine Magazine, no one will mind.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“do try it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have been coming to Nimmos/Ard Bia over many years through a few changes of owners. To be clear, Nimmos is downstairs and also serves food and wine. Ard Bia is upstairs but as an update to the other reviews, as of a few weeks ago, they are trying something new here and have made this in to a wine bar. You need to ask them when you ring what exactly that means for having food as they have changed the interior. They also only now open (at least as of now) from Thursday-Sunday so if you are coming on one of the other days, you will be seated downstairs in Nimmos. The food and wine here are very good. The best bit is the location in a small two storey stone building. Really lovely on the water. There are always times that restaurants will ahve off days and I am not surprised to hear that this happened from some others. The place is small and the biggest complaint is that they sometimes over stretch reservations, so you plan to eat at 9 and may not get seated until 930-945. Don't be annoyed, grab a drink and just enjoy. The food is quite varied, always some good veggie choices, fish and meat. If you are in Galway, I would recommend this over Vina Mara and others for sure. In fact, I think Artisan and Nimmos/Ard bia are really the two to go to. Also I am noting below not really suited for large parties, that really applies to truly large gruops as it is unlikely you will get in but you can try!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    169
    50
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011 via mobile

A little gem of a resturant! Great food! I just love this place. Its shaby chic style but top notch cooking give this place a real flavour! The owner/manager does tend to call everyone "darling" rather a lot though!!! Makes for a good drinking game though!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mmmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

we chose this place b/c it was a high pick in Lonely Planet. they had moved though and it took a fair amount of searching to find it. it is very small and easy to miss. inside is fun, warm, and cozy. the food and presenation is excellent. the food was clean. tasty and well thought out. so many yummy choices for vegetarians. we would walk through the cold and rain for another taste.

  • Visited May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I had heard many great things about this restaurant and was looking forward to a nice evening. I have to say, the meal started off very well. The starter was tasty and the wine was very good. We seemed to be waiting a long time for the main course; however we didn’t mind as we were having a lovely time and the restaurant was busy.
When we receive the main courses they were both cold. We weren’t too bothered as the staff looked very busy, so we asked for them to be reheated. However, when we received them back for the second time they were still cold. I couldn’t believe that we had to send them back for a THIRD time! There was barely an apology – which was very disappointing as it was mostly Owner who was serving us. As we were very hungry at this stage we ate the ‘third-time’ reheated dinners (it was late). Once we had finished dessert menus were place on the table in front of us. We could not believe it, not only was the problem ignored but they tried to sell us more!
I have to admit I would never go back again due to the lack of customer care, which is a pity as I am sure the food would have been very good if we had received warm on the first (or second) occasion.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best resteraunt in galway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

i am elleven years old and i went to ard bia resteraunt and the food was exquisite the presentation was amazing, i ordered the smoked pork, finely chopped potatoe, rosemary and thyme pears with colliflower puree and was served with a bowl of steamed carrot and butternut squash and spinach all of the meal was incredible and my grandparents who are resteraunt and hotel owners said it was amazing and the waitress who served was named amelia colleran and was especially kind and generous and deserves a medal ! i would definatley say with confidence that this is one of the best resteraunts in galway or westeran ireland ! i know most people in my class hate spinach and dont know what smoked pork is but this was AMAZING!!!!!!!!! would recomend for a romantic meal as it has such a warm homely atmosphere so take my advice and head down to ard bia for a delicious meal by candle light (they also sell irish produce)

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard Bia at Nimmo's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Ard Bia at Nimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard Bia at Nimmo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.