I don't usually write bad reviews, but this is the exception. We both ordered from the set menu, the food we has was so-so.
The vegetable soup was ok, but no better than tinned. TBH I can make better myself.
The chicken kiev had no garlic butter left by the time it got to my plate - disappointing.
The service was rushed to get us out of the door quickly, so that they could fill the table again (that was the impression we got.)
The basket of bread was good with nice butter.
We won't be visiting again since we prefer the food and service from the forge and around 1/2 the price.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to White Gables.
Report response as inappropriate
We note from your review that you usually write good reviews, however, on reviewing your profile, we see that you have written only one other review, which was posted to this site on the same day. With respect, we are not convinced that this rates you as being a reviewer of restaurants on this site.
Our soup is certainly not tinned, and of course there was garlic butter on your chicken. We never rush our guests, and, on the rare occasions that we do need the table again, we ALWAYS offer coffee and petit fours in our lounge area. You compare us to our neighbours. Not a fair comparison in our opinion. They do very good pub food, we are a full service restaurant.
Our recommendations on this site speaks for themselves.
Let's agree to let readers decide for themselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.