We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Consilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Consilio to your Saves list
Consilio
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Whitestrand Avenue | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Sadly, we only had time to spend one night here. The B&B is in a good location and you can easily walk into the centre of Galway city. It is not far from the coast and there are many eateries nearby. We had a good size room, the en-suite was small but adequate. The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and the bed comfortable. The hosts are very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovely clean room with very comfortable bed and fresh white linen. The ensuite is very spacious and lovely as well, with all the amenities provided. The location of Consilio is perfect, close to Salthill and the promenade and close to Galway shops and restaurants.
Stella is delightful, warm-hearted and interesting. She is easy-going, although she manages her B and B very professionally with her husband.
The breakfast was delicious with lots of variety and fresh fruit.
I love staying here and I will certainly stay here again when I return to Galway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hospitable host, quiet and clean room, fast wifi, very basic breakfast (we didn't try the hot options but buffet cereal options were highly processed and fruit from a can, yoghurt good), fast and reliable wifi. When we not told about the sitting room so on the first night when my partner was ill, I had to sit on the floor to read/watch tv as there was no chair and no table (we used the beside table for the iPad so generally it was on the cramped side. There was a good queen bed and a single (which we had to use for the bags as there was no where else)

Room Tip: a fair and safe option for a budget night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Smet, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. It was smaller but clean. It however had everything we needed including WIFI, a private bathroom. Parking was a plus. Location was good. Breakfast was excellent. Hosts were excellent. Stella was a hoot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Stella for 2 nights. She was hilarious. The location was great close to the pubs. Stella had good recommendations for places to eat. She was very funny. The rooms were the biggest of the 5 B&Bs we stayed at. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

rooms: comfortable and clean, but a little bit small, especially if you have big luggage.
location: 10 mins walk to city centre
price: paid 30 € per person in twin room
free wifi
the owner was very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our first B&B stay in Ireland. The house is a great location within walking distance to downtown Galway, as well as the beach area/promenade in Salthill. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great the night we arrived, but we got a good dinner recommendation from Stella and enjoyed our evening out. The next morning the sun was out long enough for us to have a walk on the promenade before our substantial Irish breakfast. Stella was sweet and made us feel at home for our short stay. We weren't fussed by it, but the bathrooms are very small. Room was comfy and it was nice to have wireless Internet. Everything was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Consilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Consilio

Address: 4 Whitestrand Avenue | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Consilio 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Consilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Consilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.