We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of all the medieval banquets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunguaire Castle's Medieval Banquet

Dunguaire Castle's Medieval Banquet
N18 | Kinvarra Village, Galway, Ireland
061/360-788
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“best of all the medieval banquets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

the entertainment concentrates on irish literary geniuses.unlike the other banquets this one appeals also to the native irish.not abit oorish.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NWNJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Dunguaire Castle is in a picturesque setting perched on a sliver of land jutting into the water with the swans floating by providing even more ambiance.

We arrived early for the banquet and spent some time walking around the castle grounds, watching the swans and enjoying the setting. As it turned out we were the only two not arriving by tour bus and the buses were delayed by traffic detours so we had time to visit with Pat, Maeve and Katrina before they went into character.

Once the other guests arrived, about 40 in all, we had a toast with mead, a little poetry and up to the banquet hall we went. The women did everything--they were the servers, entertainers and MC's. Pat played the harp, Maeve and Katrina sang and recited poetry. All of the song, story and poetry selections were from Irish authors who had some tie to the local area--lived there or were frequent visitors.

The food was very good--fresh, hot and tasty--there were accommodations for people with dietary needs.

We booked out tickets online--we were there out of season so the banquet was offered on select days and with one seating. The stairs to the banquet hall are the original stairs to the castle and are stone spiral stairs; people with mobility issues may have a problem getting up and down the stairs. The bathrooms are on the first floor.

We don't usually do "touristy" things like this but this was so much fun and such an intimate setting that I would suggest it for anyone wanting a fun night in a castle.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Looking at the Irish castles I thought the Dunguaire one was the best for its position and its structure. We had dinner there. The people there did an initial toast then recited Irish poetry, history and songs for the guest entertainment. It was fun in a picturesque setting and the food was good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were driving from Galway and just happened upon the Dunguaire Castle. Swans were swimming in front of the castle and our pictures are beautiful. This was the first day of our trip and we were so pleased to see our first castle. Duguaire's history is very interesting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We really enjoyed this place. We booked our tickets online months before and am glad I did, as there was a tour bus that filled up the rest of the spots. It's chilly in the castle, so bring some layers. You try mead to start and walk up to the performing/eating room. A king and queen is announced and the meal begins with tunes of Irish history in between and a show that follows dessert. The meal was better than I expected from such an old place. We had a wonderful time and would recommend the experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunguaire Castle's Medieval Banquet also viewed

Kinvara, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
County Clare, Province of Munster
 

Been to Dunguaire Castle's Medieval Banquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunguaire Castle's Medieval Banquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.