We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place ripe for epiphanies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
16a The Longwalk, | City Centre,, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lleida, Spain
1 review
“A place ripe for epiphanies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

You have only to look out the window to see the fast-flowing river running into the incoming tide, to see the seagulls and the swans, to wonder at the coloured fishing boats suspended temporarily from their moorings ... a scene of great natural energy, invigorating when you step out into the fresh morning air. This, together with the personalised breakfast, carefully prepared and presented, go to make a stay at The Heron's Rest a unique, emotional experience.

Room Tip: Just be sure to have a view of the tidal river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    40
    10
    4
    12
See reviews for
35
127
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This fine establishment definetly met if not exceeded all my expectaions of a B&B - We were truely astounded by the finely selected menu options , and picnic baskets to beat ! We were welcomed every evening with smile and a glass of wine and after a long day sailing settled down to the most exquiste seafood platter and later whilst tucked into a super comfy bed with a little night cap ,kindly available in our room , we admired the scenic views of the Claddagh and slept soft and soundly . The attention to detail and the warm welcoming offered to us was really unexpected and much appreciated. The owner was so pleasant and professional in offering us much local knowldege and insight to make our visit to Galway so enjoyable . You will surely be delighted and most pleased to visit this Boutique B&B – we will return next year for sure and hope you enjoy your stay just as much as we did

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Really enjoyed staying here. The service and breakfast were excellent. The location is really good too - right on the water and just around the corner from lots of restaurants and places to go out. The port night-caps were a nice touch. Definitely hoping to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I had the immense privilege of staying with Sorcha at the Herons Rest in the summer of 2011. Perks: the individual attention! You get to select your breakfast the night before: a sumptuous choice of porridge or omelettes or pancakes or other such gourmet fare.... With cheeses and jams and fruit compote in a martini glass on the table (with fresh mint!!!). Sorcha chats with her guests as she makes the breakfast right in front of you, gives great advice on where to go, the best wine bars in the area, and the don't-miss sights in Galway. She is a smart, savvy, and lovely hostess. I was also delighted to discover that the other guests were all fascinating conversationalists who made the breakfast experience even more special.

One morning I had planned a big hike, and Sorcha even packed to-go breakfast muffins for me, making sure I would be well fed during my outing!

My room was a bit small, and my bathroom was shared with one other guest on my floor, but my room was also impeccably designed, and had a decanter of port to enjoy each night while I looked out over the bay. YES, the Inn is right on the water, and you can watch swans swimming outside of your window.

Bottom line, if you want exquisite food (definitely a blessed respite from a typical Irish breakfast), individual attention, fascinating breakfast companions, and a room overlooking swans, this is the place for you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Heron's Nest for the first time last June. To say we were happy with our choice would be an understatement. There had been some mixup with our first reservation and Sorcha most graciously helped us settle it instantly. She was away during our stay so we never got to properly thank her or tell her how much we enjoyed her establishment. Every thing was first class. Additionally, the young man who was in charge during her absence was charming, helpful, and full of information concerning Galway and the whole of Ireland for that matter. He made our stay even better, if possible. We travel to Ireland frequently and The Heron's Nest has gone on our list of places we have to stay at least once while there. We've had a lot to compare it to and I would put it on a level with the finest B and B' s around the country. Without reservation, I highly recommend the Heron's Nest if you are going to be anywhere in the Galway area! It's a hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I found the Heron's Rest online and booked it. It exceeded our expectations all around -- beautiful room, beautiful view of the bay, congenial, delightful, and helpful hostess, and delicious food! What more could one possibly ask for? We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you are considering Heron’s Rest, PLEASE read this review first!

My mother (60), sister (29), and I (26) traveled to Galway and stayed at The Heron’s Rest. We rarely see each other (about once a year) and spared no expense for this trip since it was such a special occasion for us. My mother has wanted to travel to Ireland her entire life. Heron’s Rest is definitely a more expensive option but we thought it would be worth it. Having traveled a lot, I definitely understand the luxury of having a really comfortable, nice place to return after a long day of exploring.

Positives: The B&B is very beautifully decorated, clean, and the beds are comfortable, the bathroom is large and spacious with a shower and bathtub. We felt that there was plenty of space for the three of us in one room. The view from the window is magical. The locations is great for being within walking distance to lots of Galway sights, restaurants, and shops, and the bus and train stations. The breakfast was good – this is quite obviously Sorcha’s (the hostess) passion.

Negatives: The location of the B&B is right on a main pedestrian street where young people tend to gather late into the evening, so there is quite a lot of street noise. There is no air or fan in the bedroom, so it becomes stuffy without the window open, which means its either stuffy or very loud. If noise is going to bother you, I suggest looking elsewhere. I live in a large city with urban noise, and was unable to sleep at all (probably slept about 2-3 hours each night). Obviously, this is not under Sorcha’s control which I absolutely understand.

That being said, the biggest downfall of Heron’s Rest for us was the way Sorcha treated us during out stay. We were looking forward to the famous Irish hospitality, or at least some level of kindness being guests and customers, which is why we opted for a B&B as opposed to a hotel. The first night we stayed after traveling for 20+ hours, there was an issue in the middle of the night with the door being locked from the inside. Somehow, we were blamed for this and my mother was scolded by Sorcha for it (at 2:00 am and in front of other guests). Needless to say, it was very uncomfortable for us.

After that, we felt that Sorcha continued to be somewhat hostile and even at times condescending to us. We definitely got a feeling that she did NOT want us there (it seemed obvious to all of us). It got to the point that we generally avoided her in order to skip the uncomfortable and awkward conversations. We even tried to find somewhere else to stay, but everything was booked and we were stuck.

On the day before we left, I went to settle the bill with Sorcha (in cash euros only, by the way…). I brought the exact amount of cash that we were quoted for our stay. Sorcha then told me that she had accidentally quoted me the wrong price, and gave me a new price – which was almost 300 euros MORE than the original price. At first I thought maybe I had misread the original invoice so I looked it up in my email but in fact, she had changed the cost. She said the mistake was because she was “using a new booking system”. When I looked on TripAdvisor later that evening, I saw that we were not the first guests to have this issue.

All in all – I would not recommend Heron’s Rest. We had an unfortunately terrible stay, and while the breakfast was good, it was in no way worth the cost or the disappointment of everything else.

On a positive note, we LOVED Galway, and went on many different excursions and day trips, enjoyed many restaurants and pubs on Quay St, enjoyed trad dancing and music, and all in all had a fantastic trip. Ireland is a beautiful country with amazing scenery, wonderful people, music, food, and has something for everyone. I would go back in a heartbeat.

If you have any questions or would like more specifics on our situation, or if you would like some ideas on things to do when visiting Galway, please feel free to message me personally.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorcha_Molloy, Owner at The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
At The Herons Rest Boutique B&B we work very hard to ensure that ALL our guests are afforded every comfort and courtesy throughout their stay. Upon reading this particular guests comments I must say that I am surprised and a bit taken aback, so I feel compelled to reply and clarify some details.

Importantly I have a very clear recollection of these three lady guests, as we had been in regular email communication over about 6 months in advance of their stay. Martha was clearly putting a lot of thought and planning into the trip and I did my very best to facilitate this. During the course of our communication I wrote over 15 emails responding to their requests on things to do, recommended driving routes, favourite restaurants and generally extending to them every support and welcome I could imagine.

In advance of their booking I also advised them that they were planning to visit Galway during the Galway Races festival which is an extraordinarily busy time in Galway. The 'Galway Races' attracts over 250,000 people to the race track and the town is in festival celebration mode for 7 days.It is comparable to the Mardi Gras. As a centrally located guest house we are 5 minutes walk from the main streets, so whilst we are not on a main pedestrian street we do nevertheless have passers by talking & joking. Unfortunately there is little we can do to reduce noise during this time aside from our best efforts in working with the local authorities. We understand that this level of noise pollution is literally one week of the year and from experience have tried to ensure that the guests are aware in advance if their stay coincides with the festival. Most of our guests at that time would actually be attending the festival so it does not impact negatively on them.

I was pleased to read that Martha appreciated the comfort and decor of the sea facing room and bathroom in which she stayed with her mom and sister and also to hear that they each enjoyed their breakfast, which I prepared whilst chatting with them each morning. At no time did I feel that they were avoiding me, Quite the opposite in fact, Martha's mum is a very chatty lady and engaged me in many a long discussion. Upon arrival the ladies were clearly tired after a long-trip and were distracted during check in, which made it difficult for me to explain our simple locking system for house security. Later that night at 2am it became apparent that another party of guests had been locked out as someone had bolted the door from the inside. This has never before happened in 10 years and certainly was very frustrating and disruptive for everyone involved. Nevertheless the next day the issue was resolved amicably.

Most disappointing about this review is the assertion that I somehow changed the rate from the original booking rate and it is this point I would most like to clarify. May I explain: A day in advance of their expected arrival Martha emailed to say that there had been some confusion about the departure and landing dates of the plane and they would in fact be arriving a day later then expected. I responded that it was no problem, I would transfer their booking deposit to the next date. When generating this new booking sheet I made an error in transferring the rates, as we had just installed a new booking system. a week later when Martha and her mother and sister were ready to check out, they had calculated their bill based not on our original agreed rate, upon which the deposit payment had been made, but on the second booking sheet that had this error in it. At the time in order to explain, I printed ALL of our communication and indicated clearly to them how the original rate had been agreed and attached to every email aside from this last one. After some discussions it was agreed that the rate I was charging was based on the original agreed rate and the ladies paid the correct amount.

Sometimes in a guest house you meet the most fantastic people and it reminds you why you are in the business, at other times you can be left feeling completely exasperated despite your very best efforts. We are a small business and take all our guests concerns very seriously as we truly care about the happiness of our guests. Hopefully my comments will allay the concerns of those who read Martha's review, we are honest open hearted people and always put the needs and comforts of our guests first. In 2014 we expect to continue to grow and improve on our offering and we look forward forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 16a The Longwalk, | City Centre,, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Rest Boutique Hotel Galway
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.