We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
14 Grattan Park | Grattan Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Greenbush
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our room was gorgeous, the beds and linens supreme, and the breakfast was delicious! This B & B was located less than a ten minute walk, along the ocean, to the heart of Galway! My daughter and I could not have been more pleased with every aspect of this B & B!
Joan was a tremendously gracious and accomodating host, and she also gave us some great tips regarding our planned excursions to the Aran Islands and elsewhere. We cannot wait to go back to Ireland, and there is no doubt where we will stay in Galway! Do the same and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 6 on the main floor, which had a queen bed, a twin bed and a private bathroom. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    21
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viersen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's a lovely B&B with nice rooms and a good breakfast. Joan, the owner is always eager to help her guests and make everything right for them.
It lies near to the town centre and next to the sea-promenade in a quite area.
We loved it and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

A beautiful B&B on a quiet street, right across the street from the Bay, and a short walk from the City Centre. Breakfast was fabulous - my teenage son now expects a traditional Irish breakfast every morning! Best night sleep I had since arriving!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our room was neat, clean, and comfortable! And Joan! A wonderful hostess who went out of her way to make sure we had clean clothes and, in spite of a busy morning, made reservations for us to take the ferry to the Aran Islands (PLUS booking us the last the room at the Pier Hotel on Inishmore). The presentation of the breakfasts (we were there for two) were the best, by far, of any we had during our three week stay in Ireland - plenty of yogurt, fruit, cereals, orange juice, and the eggs and salmon, with their topping of greens, were perfect. My husband and I would stay at the Periwinkle over and over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Tartumaa, Estonia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

It was a nice stay in a lovely house with very lovely hostess Joan. Just 10 minutes walk from city center. Lovely breakfast every morning, possible to choose between different dishes. Feels like visiting your granny. Lovely!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We've visited the Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast for the Ironman 70.3 this year and it was a wonderful Stay. The lady of the house explained the Irish history and culture to us and we had a most comfortable room to sleep. We were racing the 70.3 Ironman and Joan, the lady of the house, was with us every second. She prepared us breakfast at most inhuman early times. It has a fantastic location one row down to a beautiful coastline just a minute away. The bay has a wonderful scenery and downtown is a walking distance. On top it Joan is so well connected that she is able to arrange things for her guest, other people would hold for impossilbe. The wonderful Irish weather and landscape close by is a treat.

Room Tip: Ask Joan, what you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Joan, the owner, is a very pleasant woman who was more than helpful in everything. She helped with directions, travel arrangements, where to eat, what to see and even told us of a great show that night we would otherwise would not have known about.

Joan and her B&B are welcoming, but also let you get on with your trip. This being my first experience at a B&B, I did not once feel like I was intruding. To my surprise, there was a toilet in every room to allow more privacy.

The Periwinkle is just a short and pleasant walk from Galway city center or the Salthill area. The only issue was that pictures of the area made me think that we would have a view of the sea, but it was a block away. It was not something I missed as it was unnecessary to the overall stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14 Grattan Park | Grattan Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.