We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Healy Tours

Healy Tours
Castlegar, Galway, Ireland
+353 91 770 066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 73 Activities in Galway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily Tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Burren, Connemara & Cong regions from Dublin & Galway all year round. Highlights include: 2hour stop at the Cliffs of Moher, Aillwee Caves, Burren Birds of Prey & Doolin. Also Kylemore Abbey & Gardens, Cong village, Quiet Man and more.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I absolutely loved this tour! John was our guide and was so knowledgable and fun. The sites were great and the lunch was incredible. Our tour ran a bit late due to tourists that refused to return to the bus at the designated time, so it was a bit rushed at the end to ensure people got back to catch buses/trains. John was so professional and took great care of everyone. I would recommend this tour to anyone...make sure you get John!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    21
    11
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cliffs of Hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This tour went wrong from the very beginning, to note I chose this tour company instead of the others because on their pamphlet they stated that you get 2 1/2 hours at the cliffs of moher (longer than the other companies claimed) and because you have the bonus option of going to the Aillwee Caves. We bought our tickets in advance from our Hostel for Saturday May 25 at 11am. When we arrived at the coach station and found out that our tour was going to be at 11:30 and not 11:00 and were given no reason why. There was also complete chaos between the two different leaving at 11:30. We were first put onto a small bus which was fine because there were not may of us on the bus. After leaving the station 15min late we stopped down the road where our bus driver disappeared and we were told that we have to switch buses, on a busy intersection I might add and again without much explanation. After being on the road for some time to where we would have been about to stop and go to the Aillwee Caves I found out that this option was only available for those who went on the 10am departure, though it does not say this anywhere on their pamphlet. Then we stopped at the Burren for a rushed 10min where we were told just to take a photo and come back. Then we headed off to the Cliffs and after arriving we were told that we would only have one 1 at the cliffs when the pamphlet clearing states 2 1/2 hours. Then we went to a restaurant in Doolin for a rushed 30minute lunch before heading back towards Galway. We were also suppose to stop at a castle on the way back but were only allowed drive by photos because we were behind because the bus drivers could not keep up with who and how many were suppose to be on the different busses that were there at the same time. This was just a terrible tour in organization and experience. I would never recommend this company, try Galway tours instead.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HealyToursGalway, Owner at Healy Tours, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are truely sorry to hear you had a bad experience with our Cliffs of Moher Tour. Our tour as it states quiet clearly on our brochures stops for 2.5 hours at the Cliffs and the Burren. if you travel on the early 10am tour you have the option to visit the Aillwee Caves. Our later 11:30am Cliffs tour joins up with our earlier 10am tour after the Aillwee Caves at an authorised designated location approved by the National Transport Authority. Everybody then continues on the same coach to the cliffs and if necessary a second coach will follow. Unfortunately people on the day returned back late from the Cliffs and as there were connections from trains and buses, photo stops had to be adjusted to ensure a safe return. Also it was a horrible wet day so the driver slowed by the castle on the return journey as it was to wet to explore the castle grounds. We very much welcome visitors comments and thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any further issues you would like to discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cliffs of Moher”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My opinion about this company is not to good.I had a ticket for 2days.First day for Cliffs of Moher,second day for Connemara.I'm stayed in the Salthill Hotel with my boyfriend for 3 days,and we waited for own holiday in Galway,so we checked the time table in the internet,and we saw the bus is come in the Salthill's tourist office.We standed in there,but the bus is didn't come:/ My boyfriend is talked to a women in the city centres tourist office,because we was very angry.She sad the bus is stop in there,but just in summer time,but the Healy is wrote own flyer they stop there.We got Paul's phone number,and he said the ticket is not refoundable,we can use for the other day,but the problem was that we think is not fair,because we stayed in Galway just 3 days,and we cannot use the ticket because we had the other bus ticket!!!Paul sad for me it's not his mistake!What is this??? Soo it is my mistake?? It was a terrible choose! Every be careful this company!
Healy Tours ticket number: 40246

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HealyToursGalway, Owner at Healy Tours, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are disappointed to hear that you have a negative opinion about our company. You booked our two day tour from Galway to the Cliffs of Moher and Connemara online which clearly states on our terms and conditions that there are no refunds allowed. Unfortunately you booked the 2 day tour but never contacted the company to collect you outside Salthill Tourist Office at 09:45am. As we explained the pick up point there is during high season from June to September. As you stated you tried to call the company buy were unable to make contact as you were trying the wrong phone number. You could have easily joined our later 11:30am tours but didn't call until 11:50am and by that stage all our tour buses had left town for the day. We were sorry we couldn't help but unfortunately it was to late. You wanted a refund and because you booked on our website through World Pay we couldn't refund you there and then. We advised you to contact World Pay and we would assist in helping you process your refund from there. We thank you for your comments and if you would like to discuss further please don't hesiate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

As a solo traveler, I found that making my base out of Galway and joining the various tours to the sights I wanted to see to be easy and enjoyable. Healy Tours made the trips to the Burren and the cliffs of moher so very informative and fun. John was a riot with his sense of humor and his desire to connect with his passengers. He is very knowledgable. The hike up the burren and the farmhouse treat was delightful. Such gracious people. John does a great job of trying to keep everyone on schedule. Such a memorable day!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We did the Connemara and Cliffs of Moher tours w/Healy. Great tours! Well-educated and fun drivers (John and Alan). Great stops on trip to explore -- not just sitting on the bus all day. Friendly, family-owned company. Would definitely book with them again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healy Tours also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
The Burren, County Clare
 

Been to Healy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healy Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.