We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meyrick to your Saves list
Hotel Meyrick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Cork
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed here on March 5th for one night with friends. Great hotel in such a central location. Every staff member we met was very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were nice and the beds comfortable. The outdoor hot tub overlooking Galway Bay was an added bonus as was the valet parking. Lovely atmosphere there in the middle of the afternoon with several people enjoying afternoon tea with a guy playing the piano in the background. Couldn't fault this hotel and will gladly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Noonsky

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We delighted to read your comments and they will be passed on to all departments as part of our customer feedback process.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Hotel Meyrick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    257
    115
    65
    44
See reviews for
107
407
25
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

80 friends and family travelled from England and Europe to Galway for a wedding at the Meyrick Hotel. It is located in Eyre Square, in the heart of the city. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, courteous and attentive. The wedding banquet was excellent, with quality food and good presentation, efficient service and the staff were very keen to please. The ambiance suited us well - very elegant with a pleasing layout. Although the bedrooms were fairly spacious we were definitely in the original building - very faded glory, is a good description. The bedroom needed a complete refit, the bathrooms were marble with old fashioned fittings, although well maintained and very clean. Facilities in the bedroom were in line with any 4* star hotel but it lacked a security safe. Safes were available in the lobby area. Our bedroom in February was very well heated, but we believe some guests had no heat in their bedrooms all weekend. For the quality of our room it was very expensive and the corridors were shabby. We looked at the spa area which appeared very dated, but with spectacular views over the city. However this did not upset us too much as overall the hotel was an excellent venue for the wedding.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear 2Turners

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and event with us.
The issues in relation to the Bedrooms re. heat had been rectified with an adjustment of our computerised heating system once it had been highlighted and is been monitored by our Maintenance team on an ongoing basis to ensure it does not occur again. We believe that the Victorian theme of our bedrooms is one of our selling points and we wish to maintain that as it allows to to stand out from the conventional hotels in the area.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your wedding day with us and the Management and Staff wish you all the best in your future together.

Kind Regards

Hotel Meyrick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dresher
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Galway at the Hotel Meyrick... receptionist upgraded our room to a top floor suite, which was gorgeous, surrounded with large windows to view the city. Our stay included dinner for our family in the Oyster Grill, which was delicious, and also a full traditional Irish breakfast in the morning. We couldn't have asked for more. Everyone greeted us and provided everything we needed for a lovely stay. We only wish we had another evening there at the Meyrick

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, General Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear lschroederDresher

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Hotel Meyrick.
We are delighted your stay with us was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Meyrick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry,ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

booked this hotel through an online website & got a very good deal compared to rate hotel itself was offering.However the room was tiny,overlooked a carpark & had 2 single beds,when usually a twin room in a hotel consists of 2 double beds.I maintain the hotel gives these small rooms to the guests who got the cheaper rates online?On the plus side it was clean but the bathroom like the room was tiny & didnt feel 4 star in any way.
did get a good nights sleep though as it was very quiet.Breakfast was served until 10.30 which is very handy.Location is excellent.Found the lack of a carpark on site very awkward though especially when the set down area out the front of the hotel was full & we'd to walk with our bags.Found reception staff nice & one man was very helpful at giving us directions to the carpark.
Function room is nice but thought the carpet on the stairs up to it needs updating,as does the carpet on the stairs leading to each bedroom floor.The service for the meal was quite good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear Noelle52

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hotel Meyrick.
All of your comments have been taken on board and the relevant management and personnel have been notified.
Unfortunately due to the limited size of our car park we are unable to offer valet parking to all of our guests but we do offer the discounted parking at the multistorey car park next door. I know that on the day there was a wedding arriving at your time of arrival which would have meant that the set down area was quite full. Also that coupled with traffic congestion at that time would have caused issues for guests making their way to the multistorey, this is a common problem for galway city.
The room you recieved was a standard twin room that consists of two single beds and we would not advertise it as anything else. I do hope that the third party website has not misled you. All of our bedrooms from standard to executive suite comply with regulations for four star accommodation and we allocate the rooms as they are purchased, not how they are purchased.

Many thanks for the positive comments in relation to the room and the staff members you encountered during your stay.

Kind Regards

Hotel Meyrick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Having stayed in this hotel for the weekend I would most certainly return & would tell my friends about it too. The staff were so friendly & welcoming - nothing was too much for them - this included the spa. They made us feel really welcome. We came away refreshed & relaxed. As it is right on Eyre Sq it tended to be a little noisy at night but it was the perfect location for walking through the city. This is certainly one to try!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear Nolanglen

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hotel Meyrick.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Your comments will be forwarded to all departments as part of our customer feedback initiative.
Many thanks once again

Kind Regards.

Hotel Meyrick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Looks nice when you walk into the reception but that is where it ends. The rooms are old and tatty. The wallpaper in the room had a lot of black/dirty marks on it. The bath tub was badly marked with large black streaks on it and the shower door has a lot of limescale on it. I complained and was told by housekeeping it wasnt dirt so nothing they could do about it! The food in the restaurant was average but at least the staff were friendly there. The barmaid in the down stairs bar was rude as was the receptionist.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear River07

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
The Hotel Meyrick operates a stringent celaning programme that is monitored by our Accommodation Manager and her team of Supervisors. We would not release a room for guest use if it was not up to our own high standard. I will investigate all of your comments fully with the relevant Management.
I would like to discuss the matter further with you if you would be so kind as to forward me your contact information.

Kind Regards

Hotel Meyrick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

When we drove into Galway from the ferry, coming from Killarney, we were so happy to see the Hotel Meyrick. Having come down with head colds, the warm and cozy bed was most inviting to recuperate from having fever. This hotel is wonderful. Love the location, walkable to major points in Galway. Staff were most kind and helpful. Bar, restaurant food was great! Highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Galway. Has old world charm with modern flare!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meyrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.