We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring earplugs if you must stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meyrick to your Saves list
Hotel Meyrick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bring earplugs if you must stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

My husband & I spent 3 nights here while on a Brendan Tour of Ireland. It was by far the worst hotel experience we had on our trip. Brendan Tours told us they use this hotel because it's so centrally located, which is certainly true. It was so central to all of the action on Eire Square that we were kept awake, one night until 3 a.m. due to a local "prom" being held in the hotel. There were people carousing in the streets, yelling & smashing bottles. In desparation our tour director went to the police station on our last night & asked for patrols in the Square, which helped some. Or maybe we were so exhausted by the 3rd night that we finally slept through the noise.

Additionally, our room was very small & cramped with no luggage racks (when requested the front desk told us there were none left), only 5 hangers in the wardrobe & a blanket that was too small for the bed. On the plus side, the room had a fridge, a keyboard to access email through the TV, & a spacious bathroom. Unfortunately there was no air conditioning, so we were forced to suffer with a stuffy room, since opening the window wasn't an option with the noise outside.

The public spaces in this vintage hotel are well maintained & elegant. But that's small comfort since we couldn't sleep in the lobby, although it wouldn't have been any noiser than our room! Needless to say, we wouldn't stay here again or take any tour that stays at this hotel.

  • Liked — public rooms
  • Disliked — noise
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room in back
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    241
    106
    63
    44
See reviews for
102
378
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

We stayed at the hotel in late July 2006. Fantastic location, beautiful entrance/lobby, great breakfast. Room was very well decorated, though to get to it felt like we were taking the back stairs or servants route. Room was very small and dark, with an interestingly shaped bathroom. The view from the bedroom was bleak, looking out over rooftops with an incessant din. Hotel had pay per view and internet, but very expensive. Bar under the hotel had good service and was empty when everywhere else in Galway was black (Arts festival). Apparently they serve nice food though they had taken the menus away early so we couldn't order. Parkings is free overnight in a nearby multi-story carpark.

Had we not paid over €200 euro for the room, it would have been fine - but the price was to much for such a small room.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2006

We recently stayed at the Great Southern Hotel in Galway and found the hotel to be a little less than "Great." We booked our standard room through the hotel website and received a promotional rate of 99 euro. The normal price of a room is over 200 euro so please don't pay full price as there are much nicer places you could stay for that amount of money. Here is a summary of our experience:

Good points---
The outdoor Canadian hot tub----actually has a roof over it so we were able to enjoy it in the cold and rain! Brilliant!
Staff---helpful and friendly. although we were the only people in the hotel spa, the staff checked on us and made suggestions about facilities we could use...customer service is becoming very rare in Ireland so the attention was a big plus.
Internet service is provided in your room for a small price which is very convenient for finding restaurants, etc....

Bad points:
Room and bathroom--a bit cramped
Tea & Coffee facilities were sufficient but limited
Restaurant---overpriced and small selection---lots of nicer places to go in Galway

Our big complaint was that our room overlooked the smoking area of a nightclub. This resulted in a number of outbursts, people shouting at each other for hours and loud blasts of music each time people enter and exit the club. We had returned to our room early as we had an early start the next morning---if you plan on being out late this might not affect you as the club closed around 2.

All in all, apart from the noise there were no major problems with the hotel, but this review is just to let people know that there were no facilities or bonuses to justify paying more than about 99 euro for the room. If you get a good deal, go and enjoy the spa. If you don't, try someplace else. The hotel doesn't provide luxury to justify a splurge.

  • Liked — location was very handy
  • Disliked — the noise from the nightclub next door
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amory, Mississippi
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

Great location! Beautiful view over park. Was able to walk where we .wanted to go to. Room was shabby! Bath room was tiny! Hairdryer had problems! Debutante ball was going on both nights we stayed there. Noisy, Noisy, Noisy! Would not stay there again!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

We stayed at this Hotel on the 16th to the 19th Aug. We found Check in a little confusing and not very well explained. The Porter, Valet parked our car. We had to take our own luggage to our room. When we arrived at the room and opened the door to our horror there was another couple in the room, so we had to take our luggage back down to Reception. They did apoligize about the confusion and gave us an Upgrade to an Executive Suite which was lovely and we were delighted with this.

The food in the Hotel was fantastic and the staff of the Hotel were Superb. I had an Irish Coffee made for me by Joe the Head Waiter who is a World Class Champion of Irish Coffee's and he did not mind giving you tips on how to make the perfect Irish Coffee.

I think one other person in their review made a comment that the Hotel is a tired elegant old lady. I would agree, the Hotel does need some work done to it. But it does not take away from the fact it is a gorgeous hotel. We loved our stay and felt very comfortable and welcome there.

It is sad to hear that it is being bought over, as a lot of the staff that are there will be leaving. As charming as the Hotel is, it also takes good staff to make you want to return. We will take an interest to see how this develops.

As the Hotel is so near the main shopping area it was a shoppers dream .

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

Our stay here was terrible. The room (which cost €280 per night & overlooked Eyre Square) was small, dark, slightly dirty (marks on the walls, carpet frayed & worn) bathroom was cramped & sparsely furnished (not so much as a cotton bud in sight)
We were kept awake until 5.30am by noise from the street & corridors, the following morning our complaint was met with blank unconcerned faces & an offer to switch to a room that faced onto Eyre Square (not exactly going to solve the problem)
We immediately checked out & into the G which is fantastic. We were kept waiting for 2 hours for our room which they rectified by upgrading us to a suite. It cost €280 a night in the G & is well worth it. Avoid the Great Southern, service & accommodation are awful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

We stayed here in mid-July for 4 nights. It was the last stop of our CIE tour, but we booked extra time to further explore Galway. We were thrilled that we did. We had an executive room on the second floor over looking Eyre square. It was a large room with high ceilings, two large windows, a wonderfully comfortable king bed and beautiful furnishings. The windows had heavy shutters and drapes so we could enjoy the activity of the square (the film failte was going on) or close up and totally block out the light and sound. The rooms were cleaned daily and we always had fresh towels and toiletries. We had breakfast and dinner in their dining room. The food was well prepared, plenty of it, and the wait staff was very attentive. Our daughter was going to school in Galway and was only too happy to join us for dinner there! The only problem I had was the room service. We ordered a pot of tea and scones one evening and after 1 1/2 hours and several phone calls they finally arrived. There wasn't much explaination, but it didn't show up on our bill When my huband questioned about it we still weren't charged. Overall we had a wonderful stay here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meyrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.