We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Galway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meyrick to your Saves list
Hotel Meyrick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best in Galway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed in the meyrick on a couple of occasions
Its my favorite hotel in Galway
So easy to find, no transport needed once you land here as its so central on eyre square
Such a classy hotel
I love the lobby!
The food in the restaurant is exceptional
Always excellent service
We look forward to returning soon again

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking eyre square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear "Seaniem12",

Thank you for your positive comments.

We are delighted that yet again we have reached your expectations. It is very important to us to know that our repeat guests are satisfied with the level of service they receive; it tells us that we are going the right direction. We will communicate your kind comments to our team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    241
    106
    63
    44
See reviews for
102
378
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here this week and thoroughly enjoyed it! The hotel has been redone and it was very elegant, evoking an earlier time. Wonderful luxury rooms with marble sink, comfy furnishings. The lobby has a cafe with log fire and beautiful furnishings. The staff were excellent. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious. The only thing that could be improved is a larger selection at breakfast. The hotel is perfectly situated in the center of Galway, and also has a full gym, spa, sauna, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear "EM71",

Thank you for taking time to write of your experience here at Hotel Meyrick.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the time you have spent here with us.
Your comments regarding the breakfast have been taken on board by our management team and we will review our breakfast selection.

Thank you once again for this kind review and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful Hotel on Eyre square in Galway on 28th May 2013. From our arrival at the hotel everything was dealt with speedily and with great courteous by the wonderful staff. We enjoyed a delicious Dinner in the Oyster Grill . The buffet breakfast too was one of the best with lots of hot foods to choose from. Accomodation was so comfortable in a great bedroom with high ceilings and gorgeous furnishings. The valet parking was so good.
Altogether a very pleasant break . I would thoruughly recommend this excellent hotel .

Room Tip: Rooms facing Eyre square make for an interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear "travelpaddle",

Thank you for this review and for your time.

We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your midweek break and that we have reached your expectations on service, food and accommodation quality. We shall relay you kind words to all our staff members.

We are looking forward to see you both in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

First impression was pulling up outside on a busy Eyre Sq to enquire in hotel about where to park, simply we'll park your car for you. The staff are great could'nt be more helpful throught out our weekend stay. Prices in the hotel are very competitive & a lovely cosy place to enjoy a pint or two. The reason I couldn't give a excellent on marks is this is a four star hotel & our room though nice was no better than other hotels that are cheaper plus we were on the side of the building with no view. Also breakfast is self service, what you say isn't everywhere. Well no there not, as my wife stayed in Forsters Court hotel just a stones throw away who bring your breakfast to your table & their are a three star hotel. This did not effect our stay in any way, food in bar was very good [Oysters bar] & so were the pints of Guinness a great place to stay. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Over looking Eyre Sq as i'm told they are very spacious, though I have no experence of this
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear "baz1961",

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. So we are delighted to read that you had a good time at Hotel Meyrick.

Unfortunately not all rooms in our hotel are Eyre Square facing, but if you mention your preference when making a reservation we will try our best to accommodate this request.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathfarnham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

4 of us stayed in the Meyrick a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is a beautiful old fashioned building in the centre of Galway with plenty of character and style. There was valet car parking which was fine with an efficient service. The rooms were a bit tired looking but nevertheless were clean and spacious. We had two rooms both of which overlooked Eyre Square which was an added bonus. The bathroom was very pleasant with a very good shower. The food was good and the staff extremely friendly. The hotel would benefit from some modernisation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear "RathfarnhamDublin",

Thank you for taking time to share you experience with other travellers.

We are happy to see that you had a good time here at Hotel Meyrick. we will pass your kind words to our team.

All points raised in your review have been taken on board by our management team and we will make sure you will see improvement on your next visit to Hotel Meyrick.

Thank you once again for your time and see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermanagh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed in Galway many times over the past number of years as we have family living there. This was our first time however in the Meyrick. We were very pleased when we entered the hotel. It has a lovely busy, homely atmosphere. A big fire greets you as you enter the foyer, which is a welcoming touch. Our room was massive, a twin suite on the 5th floor (Room 516) with two double beds, a living area and a lovely tiled hallway as you enter the room. Furnishings in the room are however well worn, but clean. So don't stay if you are expecting an ultra modern hotel. The only disadvantage to our room was that it was next door to the lift! This was very noisy on a Saturday night as party goers arrived back in the wee small hours!
We were attending a family function, so didn't get to appreciate the hotel facilities until the next morning. We were disappointed that the hotel gym and spa area was not open until 9am on Sunday morning. We had to leave the hotel early and would have loved to have experienced the facilities. We thought it was unusual that the gym was not even opened!
Breakfast was the usual buffet the next morning, but very good quality produce was used. All in all we will definitely return to the Meyrick!

Room Tip: If you can, stay in a corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear "Tonifermanagh",

How happy are we to read that you have found your new Galway favorite hotel - and its us! Thank you for your kind comments.

We are delighted to read that you found Hotel Meyrick a warm and welcoming place. it is important to us to make our guests to feel at home from the minute they walk in the doors.

We hope that the fact that gym was not open earlier did not take too much away from your overall experience, as we could open the gym earlier per request.

Thank you for this review and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A group of us girls stayed in the Meyrick a few weekends ago for my sister's hen from the Friday to Sunday.The staff were soooo helpful and friendly, and nothing was any trouble to them(like bring a big projector screen into our room for a dvd showing).The a la carte menu was very good on the Friday night and the breakfast was especially delicious the 2 days we were there..
A special thanks to Aoife who was really great to us all and big thanks to the night porter(sorry forgot your name) who kept the disco opened for an extra 2 hrs when we arrived late on the Sat night.We so appreciated that as we all loved the dancing and well done to the dj with his good choice of tracks.So thanks for making our weekend really special and I will definitely be recommending you in the future to friends and family..keep up the good work...cheers from Eimear

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear "Eimear15",

Thank you for taking your time to spread the word about Hotel Meyrick.

We are glad to see that you and your friends had a nice hen weekend away here in Galway. We pay serious attention to the levels of customer service at our hotel and it is our pleasure to know that we did reach our guests expectations.

We hope that you brought a lot of great memories with you after visiting Hotel Meyrick. Hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meyrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.