We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group evening dinner for party of 12” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meyrick to your Saves list
Hotel Meyrick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Group evening dinner for party of 12”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Recently choose hotel for a special family occasion. The food was excellent. I have found that the customer service I experienced was terrible from start to finish. Maybe I was unlucky with the staff members that took my calls in relation to enquiries re menu. The answer to one of my questions was "I have not got a clue". To be honest I did think about cancelling the booking but this was during a busy week in Galway so I stayed with the original booking. A pre dinner drink had to be returned. At no stage was I asked if everything was ok, not even when paying for the meal. We were the last sitting and the feeling I got was get the meal over and let us out as soon as possible. Needless to say we did not leave a tip and this is highly unusual given the party concerned. Disappointing for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with tripadvisor users.

We are really disappointed to see that you found service we provide was not excellent, this is not what we expect of ourselves. Unfortunately none of these issues have been brought to our attention on the night of your dinner.

All the issues you have raised have been brought to management attention and will be death in a proper manner. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and this is not the feedback we usually receive, well, I think we have let both of us down this time.

Thank you once more for your time and hope to welcome you at Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    241
    106
    63
    44
See reviews for
102
378
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Meyrick has a good location right on Eyre Square. We felt fortunate that we were upgraded to a 2 room suite with 2 baths. However we were on the second floor--evidently right over the bar--we could hear the booming and music all the time. The view out our window was of a trashy alley. I did not care for the overstuffed velvet furniture and spreads.Lumpy mattress. Fortunately the bathrooms were modern and lovely.Rooms were cold. We could not get heat from our radiator and the front desk was no help. Windows required closing huge heavy shutters to shut out light. The food was not as good as what we had at other hotels on our tour. I has sea bass one night and it was tiny, dry, and overcooked--very disappointing. I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing your review, without Customer Feedback we are at a loss as to know where we are letting our guests down.

You comments have been duly noted, we at the Hotel Meyrick are continuously reinvesting in the product and it is always important for us to hear where guests feel we need to improve on our Décor and Atmosphere. Regarding your comments on food in the Oyster Grill restaurant; we will be passing them to our Head Chef.

We hope that should you be returning to Galway that you will come in and see some changes in regards to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown PA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hotel Meyrick is definately a historic property with all the charm of an older hotel.

The restaurant is comfortable and the food is some of the best we had on a 10 trip of Ireland.

Ah, but the rooms! There is no temperature control for the rooms and in a warm October the radiator heat was on. Our group of 45 was very uncomfortable with no air conditioning. Windows open onto the main square where the partying goes on until the wee hours...so it's noisy. Bathrooms are older and not particularly well appointed for older guests...with grab bars in odd places and tubs so high and even this 5'9" traveller had a difficult time getting in and out of the tub/shower. There is one small elevator that is slow, slow, slow. Fortunately I was on the 3rd floor and took the steps.

The location is very central to shopping, sight seeing and the pub scene, making it a good choice from that point of view. If you go to Galway, you'll have to decide if comfort is more important than location. If you're looking for comfort, you might explore another hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel are definately noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write this review and appreciate your honesty. We at Hotel Meyrick take all our guest feedback in constructive manner.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our bang on city centre location and found your dining experience at Oyster Grill restaurant comfortable and high standard. We will be passing your kind comments to our restaurant team.

It is disappointing to see that quality of accommodation didn’t reach your expectations. We will address all issues raised in this review with relevant departments.

Thank you one again for your time and hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

we booked a suite at this hotel and the fun started when we reached the room, the bed i think was meant to be four poster but with no canopy it looked like somebody had turned it upside down and left the four legs sticking in the air. The tv was so small we had to move it nearer the bed and in doing so the leg detatched from the tv stand, that was the funny part... the not so funny part was no a/c in the suite and the suite we were given was directly above the railway terminal which meant from 7am. every morning the noise from trains buses and the station tannoy was unbearable if the window was left even slightly open. Whoever designed the suite could not make up their minds if it was meant to be an old room looking new or a new room looking old as the room looked fairly modern but the furniture was cheap and dated. The food we had down in " fagans " restaurant was just average pub grub in an average setting. On our day of departure we informed the receptionist of the noise level in our room and were told - that is the compromise you make for staying in a city hotel -. We will not be returning to the Meyrick hotel and would not recommend anyone stay in the suite that we stayed (awake in)

Room Tip: dont get a room overlooking the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just back from an overnight stay in the Meyrick in Galway.
Very impressed.
Staff excellent,, room good and food superb .
A hugh improvement on a stay a couple of years ago
Looks like the standards of the old Great Southern Hotel are back.
Well done.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are absolutely delighted that the event was enjoyed by all and we are very grateful to receive your feedback.

Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Hotel Meyrick again in the future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was a bit concerned about the mixed reviews about this hotel. I had the chance to stay 2 nights toward the end of August 2012 a rate offer was good enough to try it and I choose the Junior Suite.
Location is really great could not be any better , just on the main square by the coach station and within walking distance to all . Therefore unbeatable!
Check in was quick and professional. Room was I would say great as you would expect a huge Junior Suite which was located on the second floor at the corner of the building face the main square. High ceiling , drapery and decorations were perfectly in theme with atmosphere of the hotel.
Bathroom was great all marble and huge .
Restaurant : either breakfast and dinner they do lack a bit of something , I mean there is something missing . Service was just quick and impersonal. Morning breakfast was too crowded .
Common areas need attention they are a bit messy and they need to be revamped to make them more welcoming and up to atmosphere and ambiance .
Overall a good experience especially if you get a big room and a great rate.

Room Tip: Choose a large room if you have the chance a Junior Suite trough one of their frequent promotional r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our prime location in Galway City,

We at the Hotel Meyrick value our guests and their comments, as without these we are unaware if we are offering the level of service we expect of ourselves. We will be relaying all our feedback to our staff and management team.

Thank you once again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadellphia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a gorgous room. We had a chandelier over our king sized bed, 3 room suite, stereo, marble bathroom, hall with one chandelier after the other. Very rich looking bedspread and drapes. The bed was very comfortable. The staff very polite, and anticipated our needs before we knew what we needed. Efficient, friendly, and extremely clean. A lot of very famous people have stayed here and now I know why. The food was excellent, and I just could not find anything wrong with this hotel. There was a bathrobe for one and slippers for two. There was a very nice amenity kit in the bathroom as well. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if every in Galway, Ireland.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to share you experience at Hotel Meyrick with other travelers. It is always nice to see such a positive feedback of our guests.

We are delighted to see that our Hotel has met your expectations as we expect nothing less but excellence of our selves. We will be passing all your kind comments to our teams as it is vital to relay all feedback to the staff here at Hotel Meyrick.

Thank you once again for your time and we are looking forward to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meyrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.