We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B & B to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marless House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Marless House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful B & B to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was fantastic. Mary and her husband are wonderful hosts, greeted us with a pot of tea, explained the area, where to eat, buses to catch in to Galway. It is located in a wonderful part of Galway, just around the corner from the promenade, which is lovely to walk along to the village for restaurants. Short bus ride in to Galway. Very clean, we had a large room with kingside bed, very comfortable and lovely decor. Bathrooms are lovely with fluffy towels. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: The yellow room is large with king bed and single, lovely dressing table built in with lots of wardr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
263
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This B&B is rated as one of the best B&B's in Galway and justifiably so. We spent 12 weeks touring Ireland and the U.K. and there was no B&B better than this one. The home is beautiful with lovely furnishings and décor. Mary and Tom were wonderful hosts who took the time to chat and make us feel so at home. Breakfast was a treat with good food and friendly service. There is plenty of parking for those travelling by car and the bus stop for travel into the town centre is just minutes away. The location less than a block from Galway Bay could not be better! Our three nights there were wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Marless House for two nights on 11 and 12 August 2013. Mary made us very welcome when we arrived with a lovely pot of tea and biscuits and took the time to chat to us. We were in her small room which was perfectly large enough and overlooked the pretty rear garden. The whole house is spotless and feels like a home from home. The choice on the breakfast menu is great and Mary's brown bread and scones are delicious. Mary and Tom really take the time to look after their guests with great advice and maps on the best route to take for the finest views. Salthill is a little way away from Galway but there are local restaurants within walking distance if you do not want to take a taxi into Galway. I can thoroughly recommend this B & B and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Mary welcomed us with coffee on arrival and gave us tips for our stay. She apologised for the 'small room' but it was absolutely fine. Being tall, the bathroom was a little low but that's being picky. Breakfast was sensational - made to measure! We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone. Mary is a real professional!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our one night stay at Marless House. Mary greeted us with tea and biscuits when we got there after our long drive. Our room was lovely and very clean with a really comfortable bed. She gave us a great suggestion for dinner that night (Lohan's) and we were able to walk there along the water. The following morning breakfast was fabulous and filling! Mary took the time to go over a map with us and suggestions of what to see in Galway. Next time we are in Galway, we are definitely staying at Marless House! Thank you Mary and Tom!!

-Linda and James

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights. The rooms were the largest we had on our trip. Breakfast was great. I want to go back, if for no other reason than, to sample all the breakfast items I missed. Tom is a great cook and Mary is a great hostess. You will feel welcome and you'll want to go back. The shower was gentle. The beds were comfortable. The other guests were congenial.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Mary was probably the most inviting hostess we had in our travels for 3 weeks in Ireland. She has been doing this a long time and she certainly made it seem effortless. It was hot and they were busy, but she didn’t seem the least bit frazzled. The rooms were comfortable with full amenities.

It was just steps away from the Salthill Promenade, which made a nice evening’s stroll – you can even ride the Ferris Wheel – a bit pricey, but enjoyable nonetheless.

Compared to B&Bs we stayed at in other large cities, this was very fairly priced. The breakfast was lovely – overall a very nice stop on our journey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marless House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.