We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marless House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Iasi, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The host was very friendly, the breakfast was delicious, the rooms were big and clean. We had a lovely time staying here. The location is very close to the water and it has a nice view. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
223
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, short walk to the promenade. Great views from the promenade over the bay. Huge room with a comfortable bed, and a great breakfast with lots of choices. Mary made us feel really welcome and had lots of good advice. Easy walk to restaurants. I highly recommend this B&B

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

**Location: This was a concern when booking as this is *not* technically located in Galway. Instead it is located about a 5 minute drive up the road in Salthill. This turned out not to be a problem at all! First, there is a bus that takes you straight to town in a short time or you can just drive and park. Finally, Galway is quite busy and noisy and it was nice to return to the serenity of Salthill every evening. Honestly, the reason to come to this area is not necessarily for Galway itself, but the surrounding sights – Aran Islands (not to be missed!), Kylemore Abbey, The Cliffs of Moher, etc. etc. I would return here over and over and over again and can’t recommend it highly enough.

**Customer Service: Again, perfection! Mary is just an amazing person – friendly, thoughtful, just perfect. Her breakfasts are amazing – we looked forward to them every morning. Her advice about what to do, restaurants, directions, etc. were spot-on. Also, I was traveling with my 9 year old daughter and Mary was so kind to her and made her feel so special and welcome. Perfect, perfect, perfect!

**Room/Facilities: Cozy and comfortable and exceptionally tidy. Again, I have to stress how nice and quiet this area is.

**The Bottom Line: I am a pretty picky traveler and honestly I can’t imagine a nicer place to stay in Galway. There is a reason this is the number one b&b in Galway!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Mary and Tom when visiting the area last April.
I ´ve read a lot of wonderful reviews before going and all of them were true!
Lovely property, well appointed rooms, incredible breakfasts, warm and helpful hosts.
Tom reccomended Lohan´s for dinner, and there we enjoyed not only wonderful food and beer,but also a performance of a large group of irish music players.
Mary sent us to places that were not in our guidebook and reccomended where to get claddagh rings.
She even packed me a scon to go to help with my motion sickness problem.

Salthill is really a good option to skip Galway traffic and has a lovely waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bells, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights. Mary and Tom were so nice and friendly. They gave us great recommendations of where to go and how to get around. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast was tasty. We had an abundant amount of options from pancakes to traditional Irish breakfast and any combination in between. It was probably about a 30 minute walk into the main areas of Galway you will want to visit. We chose to stay in Salthill because we had read that most Galway hotels were noisy, and we are glad we did. While the Salthill area was so-so this gave us the perfect place to relax after our flight from the USA.

Room Tip: no tips...great place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Marless House for 2 nights in April and were very pleased for several reasons:
Location: The location is perfect- right around the corner from a bus stop that takes you into town, or you can walk on a nice day. It was easy to find and had plenty of parking.

Service: Mary was wonderful- providing great advice on what to do in town, along with a map and personal recommendations. She was very welcoming on our arrival with coffee and biscuits, and the room was clean and lovely.

Stay: The room was spacious with a view of the lovely little garden in the backyard and the bathroom was roomy with a great shower- the hot water lasted a long time and there was plenty of water pressure. She provided heating blankets in case it was chilly and they worked perfectly to keep us nice and warm all night. The other perfect note was the breakfast! The pancakes were honestly some of the best I have ever had, and Mary was always willing to serve you anything and everything on the menu.

In short, perfect location, room, breakfast and service. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Marless House. Mary was kind and welcoming, very friendly, and extremely helpful. She thinks of everything! The breakfast menu is extensive and the food was the most outstanding we had on our trip. In addition to the menu, Mary had cereals, fruits, yogurt, breads, scones, and more. The china is beautiful and eating breakfast was such a treat. The room was beautiful, tasteful, and comfortable. We would have loved to stay longer, and if we return to the area, we will definitely stay here again. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marless House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marless House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list