We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous bed and breakfast- literally- and a wonderful hostess :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marless House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
cork,ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous bed and breakfast- literally- and a wonderful hostess :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was not our first time staying here and the high standard is consistent. It's a great place to stay, a good base. Possibly not quite for a city break-it's a good walk to the city, or a taxi or bus ride. But it is by the sea which is gorgeous , and the location is a quiet residential area, safe and peaceful.
The bed was big and very comfortable. No noise from neighboring rooms and no banging and clattering noise from breakfast.
The shower was good,spotless bathroom, wi fi, plenty of sockets, comfortable guest living room where you'll be offered complementary tea - nice touch.
The breakfast is divine and there's plenty of everything. Fruit, cereals, yogurts and a hot menu too with plenty if variety. Coeliacs are catered for with no fuss.

I totally recommend!!:)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
222
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Mary and Marless House are gems! She was born to this business - friendly, welcoming, warm and offering a superb B&B stay. Her place is immaculate. Rooms are warmly decorated. The breakfast - an array of delicious food from a menu that can be customized. And she's a wealth of knowledge for Galway and the west of Ireland.

Mary offers endless, genuine hospitality. When I arrived off the Aran Islands ferry quite "green at the gills", Mary settled me into the living room and brought me tea, cookies and crackers, making sure I felt better When my flight back to NYC was delayed (twice) due to Hurricane Sandy, Mary generously let me use her computer to handle re-booking, etc. and was supportive as I worked to sort things out.

All in all, she made my trip to Ireland absolutely superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Mary's 37 years of experience showed in this perfectly operated B&B. The rooms are large, clean and bright, as is the whole house. Marless House is just a few doors from the bay and a five minute drive from downtown Galway. Mary and her maps were an excellent source for locating some of the best restaurants in Ireland and local but obscure touring sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great hosts, cosy spacious rooms, delicious breakfast!
Very close to Galway, but if you want to go in the city at night you need to go by car.
Really close to the ocean and a nice view to wake up with

Great way to experience the B&B experience in Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was our first stay in an Ireland B&B and did not disappoint. Mary was a lovely host and helped us immensely with what to do on our short stay in Galway. She was the perfect introduction. We loved her. We did not get to meet Tom since he was in Dublin at the All Ireland Hurling Finals. Breakfast was fabulous. The location is beautiful and not far from town. Their house was immaculate and wonderful. If we are ever able to visit Galway again.....we would definitely stay with Mary and Tom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

You can't ask for a more warm, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful hostess than Mary. The house is immaculately kept and our room was large and quiet. Breakfast was a real treat and Mary allows the guests to mix and match from the menu. She also helps to get the conversation going in the mornings, which is something which we appreciated. Mary lavished personal attention on each and every guest, and could not have been more helpful. If we ever make it back to Galway I cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Marless house is a quintessential B&B experience complete with charismatic hosts, doilies and old-style English chinawear. Old fashioned hospitality, generous servings and the best hot breakfast i've ever had in a B&B. Full of charm and personality. Your tireless and personable hosts will do all they can to make your stay and onward journey wonderful I'd reccomend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marless House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marless House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list