We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All Around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Jude's Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St. Jude's Lodge to your Saves list
St. Jude's Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   24 College Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great All Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Can't say enough good things about St Jude's Lodge! I stayed here recently for 3 nights. Though I was traveling alone and requested a single room, I received a huge room with enough space to sleep 3 people. The room was modern, airy and sunny, with big windows and lots of light. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room, along with the nice touch of chocolates on the pillows. Bathroom was big and spotless, shower was wonderful. Wifi was free, as well as free on-site parking behind the B&B. Breakfast was an additional 6 Euro. I did not partake, as I wanted to enjoy all the little local cafes in the area for breakfast, but it smelled wonderful every morning and the breakfast room was pretty and well-appointed. There was a sitting room with a computer and printer, and a bookshelf full of books. A short, 5 minute walk gets you right into Eyre Square, at the city center. A bus does come by the B&B, but I never used it as the walk was so quick.
One small negative: The doors on the first floor where I stayed were very squeaky. I could hear any time anyone opened a door nearby. The walls are also quite thin, and you can hear a bit of noise from the people around you. This didn't bother me at all, but might be something to think about if you are a very light sleeper.
Would definitely stay again if I returned to Galway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    40
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
52
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our brief stay at St. Jude's Lodge in Galway was exceptionally comfortable. The lodge is impeccably clean, the beds comfortable, and the administration friendly and helpful. Located close to downtown, we were able to safely park the car and walk to and from the major sights. We would most definitely return and highly recommend this stay to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at St.Jude Lodge (not to be confused with St. Jude B & B) had nice rooms - great showers. Clean and the staff was super friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast room (a group of 6) lots of choices.
The location was super and we were close to locations we planned to visit.
The parking we thought was going to be awful until we realized there was a huge parking lot area in the back. Would stop there again. Thanks to the great staff.

Room Tip: We had a 4 twin bed room and it was excellent for our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a lovely time in Galway. St Jude's was a wee gem!! On arrival we were greeted by a super friendly guy on reception who made us feel extremely welcome from the moment he opened the door. Our room was huge with a spacious bathroom and fantastic shower. The bed was very comfortable and the whole place was immaculate. There were mints set out on the bed which I thought was a lovely touch. There was WiFi throughout the whole premises with high speed connection unlike in most places where its only available in public areas. The B&B had ample guest parking so we were able to leave the car and head to the town for a few Guinness without the need for taxi's as it was only a short walk to the town centre. Next morning we met the owners - two brothers who were great craic. It's always nice to meet genuine people when you're travelling, it makes the whole experience so much more enjoyable. It would be fair to say that when I next visit Galway - St Jude's is where we will be staying. Thanks Guys

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Loved this B&B. Lovely room with comfortable bed and pillows, nicely decorated. Good location to walk to and from the City Center where all the action is. Any staff we talked to was very helpful and friendly. A lot of breakfast options offered. Very happy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great B'n'B within walking distance of the town centre. Car park at the back so you can hire a motor, look around the island and then pitch up at the lodge when you're done. Full Irish/English breakfast in the morning was sublime and there was masses of it. Owners were helpful and chatty. Couldn't fault it; will be returning at some point.

Room Tip: If possible, avoid the double room on the left as you enter the lodge, its a touch noisy in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
785 reviews 785 reviews
226 hotel reviews
Reviews in 278 cities Reviews in 278 cities
493 helpful votes 493 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were given a great welcome by the man on late night reception who also recommended a good pub to us. Our room and bathroom was fine, nicely decorated and comfortable and we could see the water from our window which was nice.

The B&B is about a 15-20 minute walk from the centre and has plenty of on site parking.

The only downside was the squeaky doors which means you can hear people quite loudly coming and going. It was expensive in comparison to other places we stayed, however we were staying for the oyster festival and booked quite late. The breakfast buffet was fine and free wi-fi is always good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Jude's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Jude's Lodge

Address: 24 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Jude's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Jude's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Jude`s Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Jude's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.