We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No. 3 Cuan Glas | Bishop O Donnell Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just returned from Salthill. Had the pleasure of staying at Abbeylee with my daughter at a concert in the town. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable, breakfast was lovely and the welcome very warm. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at this B&B two nights. The owners, Mary and Mike, were lovely. Very welcoming, gracious and provided excellent recommendations for lunch, dinner and local activities. We had never stayed at a b&b before and first time visit to Ireland. This was a pleasant experience. The room was very clean, neat, well decorated and quiet. We actually didn't know that anyone else was staying there until the morning after our first night because we didn't hear anyone at all. So, it wasn't until breakfast that we even knew anyone else was staying there. Would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: we stayed in the room in the back to the left side of the stairs. Very quiet, sunny in the morning t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed one night at Abbeylee and found it to be top notch. The owners were great and very helpful. The rooms are a good size and very, very clean. Breakfast was delicious. It convenient to the city and Salthill. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was the first B&B that we stayed at in Ireland. When we arrived, we were greeted by Mary and the delicious smell of freshly baked scones. As we unpacked, Mary offered us scones and jam- they were unbelievable! Mike and Mary were very helpful, pointing us in the direction of dinner and a few places to hear traditional Irish music. Breakfast was made to order and quite tasty. Both hosts sat and chatted with us, giving us recommendations for sightseeing on our way south. It was a wonderful introduction to Ireland.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was the first B&B we stayed at in Ireland. We were promptly greeted by Mike (the proprietor) at the door and he assisted us with our bags. We were the only guests that night as we went during the off season. Mike gave us the rundown on Galway and where to eat and what to see. He was extremely pleasant and helpful. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was a great size. Breakfast the next day was delicious! We had eggs, cereal and yogurt, but there were plenty of options. Again, he told us what to see on our way to our next destination. Overall this was a great way to start our trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lily room which has a double and a single bed and had a bathroom ensuite! It was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Nice B&B, very average size rooms but clean. Brweakfast was to die for and hospitality was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Mike & Marie welcomed us into their home like we were family. From the first interaction: we got lost in Galway and Mike came to meet us and have us follow him home - to the many requests: our teenage son preferred his breakfast egg cooked a certain way (he was in the kitchen cooking with Mike), a glass of wine from their own personal stock for my mother-in-law on a "dry" holiday, driving us down to a suggested restaurant when we couldn't think of getting back in our car again, and allowing us to add a room the second night for our son.

Their home was clean and welcoming. Marie has a toothbruth in her pocket for cleaning to get at the tough spots in the bathrooms (I asked). There were extra blankets in the living room for reading. The courtyard was quaint and quiet with spots to sit and relax. Breakfast was excellent - fresh bakery, fruit, tea, coffee and as mentioned above, even cooked to order items.

We liked the location for the quiet neighborhood. We were able to walk each morning down to the ocean and boardwalk - just a nice walk down the hill. Parking was fine - they had a spot for our rental in their front lot.

Overall it was like staying with family (but better!) - there were even hugs when we left and promises from us to see them again on a future return trip. Staying with Mike & Marie was a nice way to meet an Irish couple that we wouldn't have had the priviledge of doing if we stayed at a hotel or large inn.

(Sorry this review is long overdo Mike & Marie! We can't believe it was last Spring already - hope all is well.)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast

Address: No. 3 Cuan Glas | Bishop O Donnell Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeylee is a family run,tastefully appointed,purpose built bed and breakfast. Situated in the suburbs of Galway City and close proximity to Salthill, Galway Bay's scenery and attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.