We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this place a try” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The House Hotel to your Saves list
The House Hotel
Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Give this place a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

Stayed here for two nights in August (12 and 13) after seeing a very good offer on their website. We had stayed here years ago when it was Brennan's Yard but allowed ourselves to be convinced that it was totally different and it was. Maybe the best thing about the House is the staff. They ranged from very courteous (everyone) to downright helpful and friendly from the lovely girls on reception to the guys who brought magnificent breakfasts to our room each morning. There were more little details than I can remember but the package we got left nothing out. Our room was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. We got two of the wettest days in Galway this summer but the hotel made it a memorable stay and we will be looking out for further good-value packages.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    181
    64
    32
    11
See reviews for
70
315
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

This hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of Galway - although it is slightly tricky to get to by car and there are no street name signs in Galway! The rooms are great and the helpful staff were always around. Good restaurant and a cool bar added to the appeal. Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Please change the name. Googling House Hotel brings up every version of Park House, Ardilaun House etc, The trouble with these "boutique" hotels is that the quirky, minimalist decor dates easily and can soon look cheap and faded. I was not as happy with reception area as some reviewers, Would prefer a proper desk and, at the price, some more marble and mahogany rather than "cutting edge" clashing pinks and oranges and scuffed wood floor. My own cheaply decorated house looks like that (guess thats why its a "home away from home" ) but in a (rather expensive) hotel I want some traditional luxury.We stayed here because Jurys was full. Jurys is cheaper and if you get rooms with nice river view, has larger luxury bathrooms. The House was nice but too expensive for what it is. Room was just ok, rather dull and dark. brownish bathroom, no sparkle/ Not interested in dressing gowns or slippers. Everything was of course perfectly clean but surely one should not have to pay extra fot that. Yes the toiletries are L'Occitane but there was only enough for one. Dull off white net curtains. no view. Car parking a problem as stated, unloading luggage in the rain on busy corner, website needs to warn guests.The staff were lovely, efficient and helpful.Very few of them were Irish, We had afternoon tea in the foyer. nice blonde Irish girl served. Breakfast was lovely. The location is suberb. In Galway you need to be near the old quarter or you will have to taxi to restaurants etc.. You need to book restaurants in Galway in advance. We ate at the marvellous Vina Mara close to the hotel. Heard a member of staff at the hotel tell a frustrated guest who could find no free table in local restaurants to try Barna or Connemara! The whole point of staying here is that you want to eat nearby. If you get a cheap internet deal or money is not an issue I would recommend this hotel; It is beside everything of interest in Galway, it seems to be trying very hard in its slightly gimmicky way, but it is not in any way a luxury hotel and you will be disappointed if you expect this. Medieval Galway is so wonderful, you will be so busy experiencing it all that you wont have time for complimentary dressing gown and slippers.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — over hyped perhaps
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

Never having been to Galway, it was a challenge to choose a hotel. I am so glad we stayed at The House Hotel. While not the closest hotel to the square or train station, it was in a great location, close to restaurants and the water. The room was nice, the lobby was comfortable, and the restaurant was good. The staff was excellent, always available with a recommendation and directions around the area.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

Lovely hotel. Excellent location. Parking a little far away and not free, but discounted. Comfy rooms quite small. Lots of nice touches like chocs in the evening in the room, newspapers in the morning, bed turned down, slippers left out etc. Nice bowl of seafood chowder in the restaurant. Service excellent, staff very friendly. Small, quirky hotel.

  • Liked — Location, little touches
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the House Hotel. We were so impressed with the service, the cozy rooms and in general a very well run hotel. It has a very hip feel, but at the same time very warm and service oriented. We travel a great deal and we are very fussy travellers, so if we rate this hotel a 5 out of 5, then you can rest assure it is a great bet. If we every go back to Galway we would stay here again...

We found all of the staff to be just exceptional, which tells me that this is a very well run hotel. I understand that new ownership just took place 2 weeks ago, so hopefully they will maintain the high standard. The location is also perfect, so close to everything, but not in the middle of all of the noise.

  • Liked — The beds were very comfortable and everything was so new
  • Disliked — No balcony
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

although it is on the high side price wise on speaking to others in the town it was worth it compared to the corporate offerings in the town. this a great wee relaxed hotel with lovely rooms fixtures and fittings. the location is fantastic 15-20euro in a cab from the airport, 2 min walk from the station and 1 min from the main drag and sea. i would also recommend Cookes in the town for a bite to eat we went sunday lunch and heard the only other couple in there commenting how good it was. my dish of seafood platter not on the lunch menu was no trouble for the staff and the taste was awesome, as were the mrs' crab claws and mussels.

  • Liked — realxed atmosphere and very individual
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#19 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.