We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claremount House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Claremount House to your Saves list
Claremount House
Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My friends and I overnighted at Claremont House . It was a welcoming comfortable and memorable stay .We were offered a beverage on arrival and enjoyed an appetising breakfast .The comfort of the bedrooms and ensuite were on a par with five star ratings .The hosts were a good advert for Irish tourism . well done and continued success to you both ...Thank you ..We'll be back . Eileen ( Cork )

Room Tip: Make a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    19
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
102
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The room was an average size, but clean, as was the bathroom. Comfortable bed and a good full Irish breakfast prepared by Stephen.
A little disappointment tough, the location. Claremount House is on a busy road, right next door to a gas station and across the street from an old tired looking hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Although it said on their web site that it's convenient to Galway pubs, music, restaurants, theatres, cinema, art galleries etc; it's closer to 20 minutes walk to any of them. My wife and I are fast walkers, none of those facitlities are within walking distance taking into consideration the weather..! The room in our opinion was a little on the small side but adequate. The breakfast was one of the better ones we had in 2 weeks in Ireland . Not a bad value for our stay in Galway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed at the Claremount house in January for a weekend. I have to say it was on of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The owners were very kind and helpful and made me feel very welcome. The rooms was really nice and the bed was so comfy I didn't want to leave.(the duck duvet was amazing). In the morning I had a lovely full Irish breakfast with as much toast and tea I wanted. I would recommend the Claremount house to anyone and I will certainly be staying there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The owners, breakfast and the room were fine. Location was poor. ( Check previous travelers photos of a blue hotel across the street) There's a very tired looking hotel across the street from the b&b. The bed and breakfast is right on the main road and the traffic noise at night is unbearable as we like to keep the window a little open for fresh air.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed with Claremount House over the chrsitmas period and it was a pleasure. The beds were extreamly big and comfy and the B&B had a real cosy family atmosphere. the views from the rooms were also wonderful as you can see the golf course and the tide coming in each morning. The breakfast was superb in the morning and Stephen and Anna were very helpful in directing us to the best tourist spots. Its a definate must stay in galway!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Room on the small side, small bathroom, close to a busy road, nice breakfast and wonderful owners.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremount House

Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Claremount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremount House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.