We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Funny Lady” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cashelmara Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cashelmara Lodge to your Saves list
Cashelmara Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Funny Lady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a 3night/4day stay in Salthill at Cashelmara Lodge. Like some of the other reviewers the owner was not there when we arrived but her son Shane knew which room we were to have and organised our breakfast menu for the following day.
We went to see which were the best places to eat and Christina quickly came out of her room when she heard us coming downstairs and introduced herself, she recommended several places to eat and in fact the first one we went to was so good we ate there every night.
Our breakfasts were first class, nothing was too much trouble and we were offered "seconds".
Our room wasn't the biggest but it was spotless, a good sized bathroom and a very comfortable bed and we were at the front overlooking Galway Bay.
We sat out on the balcony with a bottle of wine and our plastic glasses and Mr Fahey came out with two wine glasses for us.
Christina organised our pickup for our trip to The Burren and Cliffs of Moher, gave us plenty of tips where to go and what to see and what/where to avoid. When we sat in the loung she came and joined us with a glass of wine and we had a good laugh.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay and the whole family made us feel very welcome.

  • Liked — cleanliness and excellent foot
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    14
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
22
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

What a wonderful experience!! The accommodation and excellence of the food were only overshadowed by the superb Hostess and her family. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and assistance with some of our luggage. After signing in and being shown to our in suite room we joined Christina Fahey, our hostess, for excellent instructions to some of the places we wanted to see. There is a lovely sitting area off of the dining area where we enjoyed a glass of wine while we reviewed our travel maps and made plans for the next day. Our wonderful Irish Breakfast the next morning was prepared to perfection. An abundant variety of fruit, juice, breads and cereals were available to satisfy any desire. We spent two nights with Christina and family friends from Newfoundland joined us the second night. We were all very pleased with the experience and have already recommended Cashelmara Lodge to our friends. Our next trip to Ireland will most definitely include a few nights at Cashelmara.

  • Liked — The Hostess & Family and the cleanleness of the accomodation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth. Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

First let me state the from the first correspondence I had mixed feelings obout this place. However we did book 2 nights & they took my C/C as a deposit.
Upon arrival we were me by the owners (Christina) two sons. They were excellent & carried our bags to our room on the second floor. I also asked if we could have some ice for our drinks, & they replied "no problem" & fetched it quickly. One son said that they had a large fridge with a ice- maker, so ice was no problem. The next day was uneventfull, a nice but not great braekfast.. Then we met the owners wife Christina. She was "cold" to us from the start . Maybe she did not like Americans... Who knows... Everything we asked (small things) seemed to be a imposition... The last day Sunday(no laundries were open) I had soiled a pair of shorts, & asked if I could do a very small wash. She replied ,, well I guess so, but leave your dirty clothes on the floor & I will get around to it sometime. O.K.
So Monday morning we were checking out, & I presented my C/C. Oh NO!! We do NOT take C/C. HUH?? You took my C/C as a deposit.. Right?? Well,,,,,, O.K. But we still do NOT take C/C..
After much hassle at the local Banks I was able to come up with the cash.. This Innkeeper has a LOT to learn about "People Skills" especially running an B&B. Travellers be fore-warned.!!

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — The owners wife....
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

When we arrived the first thing the lady told us was that she had forgotten we were coming - something a host should surely keep to themselves even if it is true!

We were offered no warm welcome, or 'how was your journey?' type conversation, just 'what time do you want your breakfast', and a brusque reception.

When we asked about recommendations for dinner, we were offered one in particular, which was not within walking distance. When we went back and asked for something closer, we were met with an almost angry - 'why dont you like the one I suggested!' I suspect there is a bias of some kind involved here.

To be honest we felt very uncomfortable around this lady, and by the end of the morning, couldn't wait to escape! It's a shame, because there is nothing terribly wrong with the B&B itself.

The room was on the small side, but was clean enough. Even so, if I were you, I'd look for somewhere else in Salthill.

  • Liked — Breakfast was good
  • Disliked — Unwelcoming manner of host
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

Came on Cashelmara Lodge through their Website and it turned out to be a great place to stay. The B&B overlooks Galway Bay and its location is great in Salthill and close to Galway City.
The Hostess Christina was great made us very welcome and helped us with our travel plans,
The room was well furnished and spacious with Telephone, Tea & Coffee facilities. Breakfast was excellent.
This was the best B&B we stayed in on our tour of Ireland in June.

  • Liked — Was very clean and welcoming
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califirnia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

We Visited from Los Altos California and had an excellent experience with the Bed and Breakfasts in Ireland. One of the best B&B's we visited was Cashelmara Lodge Salthill, Galway. We were greated by Christina who took us to a Large King Size Luxury Room overlooking Galway. The place is beautiful and the owner was very helpfull with planning our trips to the Aran Islands, Connemara and the Burren.
We got recommendationd on local restaurants Donnelly's and DeRoderto's which were great.

All in all a great stay at Cashelmara Lodge

  • Liked — Very Clean and Organised
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

When we arrived at the B&B the 'hostess' was not there to greet us. Instead her young son opened the door and had no idea that we had pre-booked a room over the internet. After consulting a notebook he was still none the wiser and called his mother on the phone. She obviously had no idea either and told her son to show us two rooms.
The first was not ready for guests and had bedclothes strewn about. The second was very small and the bed took up most of the floor space.
At this point we decided t seek alternative accommodation (The Galway Bay hotel Salt hill, excellent) at which point the son asked me to speak to his mother on the phone explaining why I had cancelled the booking. She came on the phone with an aggressive tone demanding to know what could have been wrong with the service she was providing. When I gently explained that the room did not meet our needs she hung up on me!

The following day having realised we had mislaid our camera somewhere we called the hostel again to enquire if we had left it in the room they had shown us. Christina was even more rude and agressive on the phone.

In short sleeping on the beach in Salthill would be a better experience that dealing with that woman!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cashelmara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashelmara Lodge

Address: 3 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cashelmara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully decorated inside, this is one of the most opulently appointed houses in Galway City which appropriately matches its glorious location overlooking Galway Bay. Located five minutes drive from the city centre on the scenic Coast Road at the gateway to Connemara, Cashelmara Lodge is the ideal tourist base. The Lodge is owner occupied and we have great local knowledge to help with your schedule and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cashelmara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashelmara Hotel Salthill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cashelmara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.