We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Galway ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Western Hotel to your Saves list
The Western Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Prospect Hill, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Galway ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The western is in a great location at the top of eyre square. There is parking which is a nightmare as other cars have no regard for anyone and just block you in and then drivers can't be found. Everything else is just great about this place. It is a traditional type place with comfy beds and great space in the room. The bathroom is a good size as well. We stayed on a Thursday night which is a traditional session night with local musicians playing and singing. What a fantastic night we had! Great fun and plenty of craic. There was even a song for us! We ate in the hotel and the food was great. There was a deal on and it was really good value and included a bottle of wine. Lovely young bar man, great craic and very helpful with my queries. Would come back here in a flash and have told everyone about it since I got home. Thank you for a brilliant time in Galway!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    218
    66
    34
    29
See reviews for
108
205
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Before I begin I must confess that the cost of my stay was covered so I have no idea how much it cost. I did look at a booking website to see what I would be charged on the same night of the week 7 days on and the cost lloked about right so I would have had no complaints.

It did have the common Irish hotel issue of being too hot and unusually the windows could be fully opened like normal windows, not exactly ideal when there was 3 crazy young man running around. Warning: The hotel is technologically primitive, no wi-fi and a big CRT TV which has maybe 10 stations (no kids channels)... The only other issue was the parking. It's free private parking in the city center which is great but there is not space for all the cars so you need to leave the keys to allow staff move it... Not a problem but when you're car can't be found after check out you have an issue. And when you're left waiting for almost 20mins in a car park (again 3 crazy young men) it becomes a big issue!

The pros are the location, the room - which was clean, comfortable and big enough for our family of 5, As I mentioned before there is free on-site parking which was great. There was a nice big bath and no shortage of hot water. The breakfast the next morning was not quite what you'd get in other places but it was tasty and fulfilled our needs...

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decent rooms, very clean, quiet by night, good breakfast, good location, a nice pub downstairs and free parking...and everything for a very good price! The staff was nice too. I would stay there again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms clean but dated. Very creaky floors and furniture. Wardrobe shook alot if you walked by. I could get over that but Service at breakfast was poor. Confusion over our order (and other tables). After asking for toast twice we did not get it until we had finished out average cooked breakfast. I also asked for green tea but never got it. Paid €159 for one night. Won't be returning.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in one of the two bedroom suites (back of the hotel) and really enjoyed the stay. The location is convenient - easy to walk everywhere. Parking is acceptable though it is limited so you must leave your keys with the front desk for them to move your car around as needed. The suite itself was comfortable - not fancy, but it was good and practical.

The food at the restaurant was very good and the service outstanding.

Only complaint is that the WiFi in the suites was BAD. Slow, constantly dropping.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights at the Western Hotel and were so happy with everything.
The prices were reasonable, the staff was so friendly and the breakfast was great.
The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the beautiful main pedestrian streets.
We also ate at the restaurant for dinner one night and found it delicious!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here during the Eastern weekend and our room was quiet and peaceful. The location for this hotel was great, a short walk from the bus station as well from the Galway city centre. There are many restaurants & pubs nearby and one in the hotel as well. Breakfast was plentiful and staff in general was helpful and kind.

The only problem would be that the rooms were a bit old-fashioned, textiles had some stains and the floor mats were stinky but rooms were tidy.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Address: 33 Prospect Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.