We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asgard Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Asgard Guesthouse to your Saves list
Asgard Guesthouse
21 College Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
San Rafael California
1 review
“What a delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My son and I had plans for a quick side trip to Galway on the way to an Irish wedding in Armagh. We found the B & B that we thought we would stay overnight in to be booked up and in a frantic rush I looked up and down the street for a B & B to let us in! And there was Geraldine - like an old friend saying, "come in, come in" - Wow. She ushered us in to the little kitchen for a home-made pie and cup a tea, and there we were just like home. Great hostess, fine little affordable room, Geraldine made arrangements for the tour bus to the Connemara coast, out of this world beautiful. Everything clean, fine big breakfast in a lovely windowed front room. A really pleasant and safe walk to town.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    59
    16
    7
    14
See reviews for
61
110
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at Asgard so we could go to the Arin Islands and also check out Galway. We picked this B&B because it had vacancies in a row of about 6 B&B's. It was recommended by Rick Steve's. We had the front room that faces onto a pretty busy street and there is some road noise. It wasn't enough to keep us up but if you want 100% peace and quiet this is not the room for you. She does have rooms in the back of the property that I'm sure are more quiet. I do agree with other posters that the rooms seem small but it is within walking distance of the heart of Galway and shopping and pubs so you give and take. The breakfast area is in a nice glass atrium that looks out onto a pretty city (small but nice) garden. The food was good. This does some to be a busy b&b, when we stayed there were probably 5-6 other rooms of people taken up. So if you want space to yourself, I probably wouldn't pick this one.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This past August, my husband and I were traveling through western Ireland and had the opportunity to spend three non consecutive nights in Galway. The Asgard Guesthouse was a perfect match for our needs! Located within an easy walking distance from the center of Galway, it offered us the freedom to have comfortable and home-like accommodations and yet be near city center with shops and restaurants and museums. The Asgard was charming and cozy, and although the rooms were a bit small, we felt welcomed and well taken care of. The owner, Veronica, and her associate, Mary, were helpful in every possible way in making our stay the best that it could be. The lovely breakfast room was sunfilled and overlooked a flowering garden. The breakfast itself was wonderful and offered a wide selection of choices. I definitely would recommend the French Toast... the best I have ever had.! There is great off the road parking right in front of the guesthouse and our hosts were most accommodating in taking care of our car that left us worry free. Both Veronica and Mary were great in giving us directions and recommendation of places to see and restaurants where we could eat that would fit our budget. At the end of a long day of touring, Mary was so gracious to bring us a pot of tea and some homemade cake to revive our energy. Could not have been nicer! The Asgard was a wonderful choice for a stay in Galway!!
MonicaH

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Rooms 3mtr x 2,5.No space for luggage.Tiny double bed and tiny bathroom.same goes for my friend's room.The only positive thing was the cleanliness and the position near the centre,anyway nothing special.40 euro per person for that B&B is a robbery.Don't go!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agoura, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Mary and Veronica were wonderful! We arrived after a long drive from Dublin and we had never been to a B&B before. What to expect? We were immediately put at ease. The rooms were spotless, and yes tiny, but we loved this experience. Galway was packed with people for the races. The breakfast at the Asgard was delightful and served in a beautiful glass enclosed garden atrium. Food was delicious and the service and ambiance fantastic. Can't wait to return to this lovely guesthouse and town!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Veronica and Mary were as friendly and kind as they could be. They were so helpful--called us taxis, recommended wonderful restaurants, organized day tours for us. On my birthday Mary called ahead to the restaurant to let them know and they had a dessert for me which was a wonderful surprise and so thoughtful. The breakfast is excellent--try the french toast. There was wine in the evening and Veronica is very engaging with the guests. The first room we had was small but worked--the bed was rather had but that seemed to be in all our accomodations. We left for Ennis for a night and they kept our luggage stored for us so we would only have to take a small overnight bag and we returned the next day and spent another night. The second room we had was extremely small--barely enough room for a bed and no real space so you may want to make sure you ask for a larger room

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

It was a nice enough b&b, but the rooms were tiny. We had 2 adults & 2 kids, but only a double bed and a twin. Bathrooms were very small. Did not feel that it was within walking distance to downtown with the kids. We did enjoy the wi-fi, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asgard Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asgard Guesthouse

Address: 21 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Asgard Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asgard Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asgard Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.