We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here, not worth the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Tourist Hostel

Celtic Tourist Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Celtic Tourist Hostel
Save
You added Celtic Tourist Hostel to your Saves list
Queen St | Just off Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Claddagh Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't stay here, not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I don't have a good thing to say about this place. Be it the dirty rooms, non-existence shower pressure, weird chest thumping music at 3am from the neighbours, rooms slightly larger then a tomb and I have to ask, who's brilliant idea was it to buy metal bed frames? If you're a big fellow like I am, they shriek like the devil when you move.

So, if you want good value, a decent sleep and a memorable experience, don't stay here, ever.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    3
    11
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just Don't do it. This place is just so horrible, it really ruined our trip. We stayed here for 4 days, sadly. We got a prison cell-like room (really! I am so serious, it was 2.5 meters on 3.5) and one couldn't open the door without hitting the bed. horrible. And after a rough, claustrophobic, noisy night (you can hear people breathing from beyond the tissue walls), you enter the bathroom where the water never, ever goes down and so you have a beautiful morning surprise from previous bathroom goers. each time. It might sound petty, but picture opening your day and closing your night in awful conditions-and this isn't a cheap hostel in a third world country, it's the most expensive city and we paid for this little piece of hell an obscene amount of money (non-refundable) and they don't let you see the room before booking. costs like a 3 star hotel. It broke our spirits and just ruined the entire Galway part of our trip.

Room Tip: Don't get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosnowiec, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I stayed there for just 3 days and on leaving I did wish I could stay longer. The atmoshpere was great, the staff super-friendly. You can really feel the Irish hospitality there. What is more, rooms were very nice and bathrooms cleaned often. Anyone willing to see the lovely Irish countryside can buy tour tickets at the reception or get advice from the staff - better than one from a guidebook.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed here for two nights after booking at very short notice online. The room was tiny you could barely open the door with your bags inside, it was like being in prison cell. The worst part was the state of the bathrooms, they were horrible and dirty and looked like they were never cleaned. The kitchen was not much better and the TV/lounge room was shabby and old. The only decent thing about this place was the free internet but for the price you pay for the room it's not worth it! Stay away, do your research and find somewhere else to stay. This place really put a dampener on our Galway visit and overall hostel experiences.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

My stay in this hostel was a terrible experience, the first of the problems began when my boyfriend and I entered the property to make our bookings and found the receptionist did not speak fluent English making all sorts of issues in our booking and organising of rooms.
Then when we arrived at our rooms we were appalled to discover that the walls were damp, the wall paint was dated, chipped and dirty, the windows are all outdated and ancient making the paint on the frames cracked form the build up condensation (they should've been replaced years ago) and worst of all our bed clothes were not clean and unchanged. The price that customers pay is clearly only for the free internet connection and breakfast and not put back into maintaining the dorms.
The common room is cramped (as are the dorms) and the place has an unfriendly air.
The bathrooms in the building are all serviced at the same time and so should you need to go to the toilet or have some kind of emergency in that time there is none available for use.
The entire stay in general was an unhappy one due to the unfriendly atmosphere, the poor quality of the rooms and the poor hygiene. All in all I was very unhappy with my stay in the Claddagh Hostel and would advise all to avoid it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything..
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emiliaromagna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Not so bad, but also not so good.
Dorms are big enough, even if they're for ten people. Not too dirty, but also not so clean! Shower is shared with many people and taking one could become a problem. There's free internet but the common room is not so big and it's not easy meeting people.

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Disliked — People
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

After travelling around the UK and Europe for more than 2 years, this wins the award for The Worst Hostel. It was dirty, smelly and mouldy!! The twin room was smaller than a prison cell. The showers were either not working at all or broken. Totally gross - 1 night was far too much! Never recommend this to anyone.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty, smelling, showers not operating
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Tourist Hostel

Address: Queen St | Just off Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Claddagh Hostel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Tourist Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.