We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockbarton Park Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Save
You added Rockbarton Park Hotel to your Saves list
5/7 Rockbarton Park, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for a nite no complaints only dat there was no bath but by me sayin tis i been very picky lovely cosy room an bed spotless an in great location. would def stay again lovely run place an very gud price

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel looks like it hasn't had any significant investment in a couple of decades so it looks dated but it has been maintained well. It's really clean and neat and cosy. The welcome was really genuine and warm which made us feel very much at home. The owner couldn't do enough for us. Getting up earlier than normal to make us breakfast 2 mornings and making sure we got the best rate possible. The breakfasts and evening meals were great. There was free wifi and endless sport on TV.
The dated decor wouldn't put me off staying again. The fantastic service is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very clean place. It could do with a complete over haul. Take some furniture out of the rooms and you'll fit a proper size double bed... New showers please... We had one that was like standing in a heavy mist... it may be cheap but a bit of care to attention would be a lot better...

Room Tip: Clean but very dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We arrived in Galway late on a Wednesday night and did not have reservation, which turned out to be mistake since most of the hotels were fully booked due too high season. We were referred to Rockbarton Park Hotel, which had rooms available as we were a family of 5 (all adults) and needed two rooms. Hotel turned out to be a wonderful, quaint family run bed & breakfast hotel. The owners, Patsy & Terry Tyson, could not be more accommodating; offering us sandwiches upon are arrival (After 12:00 AM) and keeping their charming pub open for us to have a few pints. The hotel is extremely charming, clean and quiet. To manage expectations, this is not a five star modern hotel, but it is a perfect example of a family run Irish B&B that is sure to offer a memorable stay. Owners are great people & very welcoming. Addis Family, Malvern, Pennsylvania.

Room Tip: They have family rooms that sleep five, Great if you are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice quiet small hotel, close to everything... very wecoming bar and restaurant. Breakfast was excellent. Service couldn't be better - Patsy the owner was a wee gem! Very helpful in planning trips to local places. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable which is most important. If you want the Ritz book the Ritz but don't be put off by some previous reviews as this wee place is not as bad as it has been made out to be ! We enjoyed our overnight stay and would go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I have read through the previous posts on this hotel and its faults have been accurately described. Somebody should direct the owner to this page, so that she may act on the very valid criticisms, but as these have been ongoing since 2007, I wouldn't hold out too much hope of changes being made.

It's described as a hotel, but feels more like a run down B&B. The owner is a pleasant and helpful lady and recommended a pub called O'Connors, which was a great call.

We were asked to leave the key at recption and that should we return after 12:30 to ring the bell. I felt like we were back in the boy scouts.

The room was tiny and the bed was in keeping with the small room, perhaps they were expecting a visit from Gulliver and the little people.

There was a dreadful smell of must from the room, which I suspect emanated from the 1970's style carpet. The whole interior was very dated, in keeping with the theme of the carpet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Nice quiet hotel, close to everything... very wecoming bar and restaurant. Food was excellent. Service couldn't be better... the only thing is the rooms. could do with a major refit. decor is out dated and rooms just seem dull and outdated. One or two nights fine but don't think I could stay any longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockbarton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockbarton Park Hotel

Address: 5/7 Rockbarton Park, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockbarton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.