We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the stop b&b at Kilcullen House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added the stop b&b at Kilcullen House to your Saves list
the stop b&b at Kilcullen House
38 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was my second trip to Galway but was definitely the best one yet because of Kilcullen House. Russel could not have been any more helpful and nice, and his personal suggestions for food, shopping and nightlife were spot on. The location was perfect as it was a short walk to all the action of Galway, but also close enough for a short walk to the beach. Best of all the breakfast was a real treat in the morning. After having the same "Irish Breakfast" day after day, the menu here was a welcome sight and did not disappoint.

The only possible drawbacks were that some rooms are right on the street, though noise was not a real problem, and the beds could have been more comfortable.

I would for sure recommend this to friends, family, and anyone looking to enjoy the best of Galway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    109
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
105
249
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Russel met us wth a warm Galway Welcome, gave us helpful written hints on what to do, where to go and where to dine. the map was a terrific guide as it was our first time to the city.The accomadation was clean , warm and comfortable. Breakast was delicious and everything was delivered with a calming ease. we would certainly recommend Kilcullen House to our friends and family.Thanks Russel Jim and Dee

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

When we made a reservation to stay at this B&B, we had no idea that this would be the best decision of our entire trip. Upon arrival, it felt like we were meeting up with family — the owners were eager to get us acclimated and settled, and so helpful when it came to offering guidance on what to do during our stay. Our plan was to visit the Cliffs of Moher. We checked in, and our host immediately gave us options for directions, explaining which route was more scenic and which was the fastest. Dinner recommendations came next. We dined at Kai, a stone's throw from this wonderful spot. Our room was spacious, pristine, and absolutely lovely. The showers — one of my favorite parts were like mini steam rooms. Exactly what we needed after a rainy day in Ireland! The best part was by far and away the breakfast that came included with our stay. I've been trying to re-create the veggie scramble with feta and homemade basil olive oil since I returned to the States to no avail. Thank you to the Kilcullen House for such a delightful stay! We will be telling everyone we meet to stay with you!

Room Tip: Arrive earlier in the day to get a choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I called a couple days before because of the great reviews online and I am so glad we stayed here. The room was smaller but thats to be excepted when the location was so close to the center of town. The decor is modern and chic with lots of art. The breakfast was DELICIOUS and we were able to chat with the owners. They handed us a very helpful map of stores, pubs and restaurants around town. We ended up going to the pub just behind the B&B and loved it, a real irish gem.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Book ahead of time- this place fills up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at Kilcullen House in August and had the most wonderful experience. The BB is about 5 min walking distance to town. The owners are wonderful, the breakfast was excellent and the rooms are very clean. I would not hesitate to stay there next time I'm in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eganville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Kilcullen house b&b is very close to downtown Galway and the house is very clean and well kept. Did not have much interaction with the host as we got in late and let early. The room was great as well as the food, we had no issues with this place. Parking is tight out back but the owner got the people who had my car blocked in to move their car so I could get out. We recommend this b&b you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Kilcullen House. Russell and Emer are great hosts, extremely helpful....we're so glad that we went with their restaurant recommendations. Breakfast is very good and although the rooms are a little small, we were comfortable. Thanks Russell and Emer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to the stop b&b at Kilcullen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the stop b&b at Kilcullen House

Address: 38 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your the stop b&b at Kilcullen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcullen House Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the stop b&b at Kilcullen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.