We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with wonderful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the stop b&b at Kilcullen House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added the stop b&b at Kilcullen House to your Saves list
the stop b&b at Kilcullen House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   38 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place with wonderful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I called a couple days before because of the great reviews online and I am so glad we stayed here. The room was smaller but thats to be excepted when the location was so close to the center of town. The decor is modern and chic with lots of art. The breakfast was DELICIOUS and we were able to chat with the owners. They handed us a very helpful map of stores, pubs and restaurants around town. We ended up going to the pub just behind the B&B and loved it, a real irish gem.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Book ahead of time- this place fills up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    108
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
104
239
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at Kilcullen House in August and had the most wonderful experience. The BB is about 5 min walking distance to town. The owners are wonderful, the breakfast was excellent and the rooms are very clean. I would not hesitate to stay there next time I'm in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eganville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Kilcullen house b&b is very close to downtown Galway and the house is very clean and well kept. Did not have much interaction with the host as we got in late and let early. The room was great as well as the food, we had no issues with this place. Parking is tight out back but the owner got the people who had my car blocked in to move their car so I could get out. We recommend this b&b you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Kilcullen House. Russell and Emer are great hosts, extremely helpful....we're so glad that we went with their restaurant recommendations. Breakfast is very good and although the rooms are a little small, we were comfortable. Thanks Russell and Emer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our stay at Kilcullen House could not have been any better - it was perfect! As this was our first time in Galway we went off the reviews on this site and were not disappointed. The entire home is designed perfectly with fantastic art work on every wall. The breakfast food was delicious and the rooms were quiet. The free parking and WiFi is an added bonus. Another great feature was that it was just a 10 minute walk from Galway City Centre. So we could walk to dinner and not worry about finding another place to park. Russell & Emer are the perfect hosts! The car park in the back is very tiny so Russell even moved our rental car out for us the morning we left - talk about amazing service! We highly recommend you stay at Kilcullen House.
Also, the French restaurant "Rouge" (38 Dominick Street) and "Le Petit Rouge" (go for a glass of wine first as it's directly across the street) are a must stop if you need a break from fish and chips. Make reservations if you want to go Thurs. - Sat or you will eat at 10:00 pm like we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Kilcullen House in Galway, where the hosts made our family and our friends feel so welcome. Good things started right from directions - unlike almost any other B&Bs in Ireland, there's not only street, but the actual house number listed in the address, which really helps finding the actual place - which is 5 minute walk from Galway center (restaurants/shops/etc), and 10 minute walk from the seaside. The hosts, Russell and Emer were impossibly nice, welcoming and helpful, and also very child-friendly - they even put age-appropriate toys in the common room for our 2 year old to play with! Among other things - common room is cosy, rooms clean, bathroom a bit small but not uncomfortable. There are 4 gourmet breakfast options, with portions not too big, but food delicious (mind that you need to choose your option the night before). Incredibly tasty cookies served in the common room in the afternoon are a nice touch as well. I wouldn't consider any other place to stay in Galway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I came to Galway for the ironman triathlon in September. Having no prior knowledge of Galway or any of it's numerous B&Bs and hotels we went with what was (a) available (relatively late booking) and (b) somewhere that had got good reviews on trip advisor. Before I continue, all the positive reviews which kilcullen house has received on this site are well deserved.

In summary things we liked:
-very accommodating of our early arrival as we had caught an overnight ferry from Liverpool
-great location and car parking
-fantastic advice on where to go and eat in the evenings
-nice clean room with ensuite (much better than what we're used to staying in when we travel for races!)
-cool lounge area with a constant supply of delicious home made cookies
-delicious breakfasts (i only wish that we stayed long enough to try everything on the menu!)
-great value for money
-on the day of our race, we had a really early start requiring an even earlier breakfast - around 5am! This was arranged for us.
-really friendly owners and staff who seem genuinely interested in their guests
-did I mention the cookies??

Things we didn't like/could be improved:
- to be honest I'm struggling to think of any!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and hope to stay here again next year when we come over for the triathlon in 2013.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the stop b&b at Kilcullen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the stop b&b at Kilcullen House

Address: 38 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Kilcullen House)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the stop b&b at Kilcullen House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your the stop b&b at Kilcullen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcullen House Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the stop b&b at Kilcullen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.