We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the call of duty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almara House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Almara House to your Saves list
Almara House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Merlin Gate | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Birr, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beyond the call of duty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was going into the Galway Clinic for some minor surgery followed by two days in-house recovery and observation. My wife and I booked in the night before, for 4 days to allow for complications. Marie and Matt could not have been more helpful. It was a wet, cold night so Matt ferried us to The Huntsman for an excellent meal--and collected us afterward. He also ferried my wife to and from the clinic several times, all without accepting any payment, not even just to cover the petrol. The room was warm, the bed comfortable, the TV easy to use, the WiFi quick, and the breakfast something of a gourmet treat. We liked it so much we stayed the full four nights even though I was let go early from the Clinic. By way of thankyou we sent them a smoked-salmon and fish selection from The Burren Smokehouse when we got back home.

Room Tip: No rooms face the main road so all would be equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    33
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
80
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Clean, comfortable and most reasonable. Great value. Matt and Marie are excellent hosts who could point out the best ways of getting around Galway and how to arrange tours of Connemara and the Cliffs. The breakfasts were excellent and got every day off to a good start. Highly recommend Almara House to Galway visitors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at Almara House. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning which we choose from a good variety of options. Matt and Marie were extremely helpful and welcoming hosts. They went out of the way to help and even drove us to my cousins place as we were running late for her wedding. I would recommend to anyone staying in Galway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The rooms are excellent and the breakfast was great! We were there in June 2012 for 2 days. Matt and Wife were wonderful hosts, giving suggestions on what to see and even going out of his way to take us down town to the tour bus. I HIGHLY recommend this wonderful place!

Room Tip: Any room choice would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The room was very clean and nice, more like a hotel than a home/guest house feel. Clean and a comfortable bed. Very close to Galway city center. A great, tasty breakfast and a good variety of things to choose from on the menu. A wonderful place to stay if you're looking to tour Galway for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed four nights at the Almara House in mid-July 2012, and we were so impressed! The decor is lovely, and everything is immaculate, from the bedrooms to the bathrooms to the breakfast room. There is a nice coffee-and-tea station in the second-floor hallway, and a water cooler.

Breakfast was a real treat, served in two courses (you choose the night before), with ample bread, butter and jam. Even the place settings are artful and elegant!

The hosts, Matthew and Mary, are very gracious and pleasant, and, when they aren't too busy serving breakfast and such, charming conversationalists.

Almara House is located in Merlin Park, a close-in suburb of Galway, and a short and inexpensive bus ride from the center of Galway. The bus stop is right outside, and it takes you to Eyre Square in about ten minutes, for 1.70 Euros.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had a twin room (one single bed + one double bed) in the front of the building: lots of sun, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here and it was pure bliss. Matt & Marie are ideal hosts, they run a really clean and tidy home with wonderful taste , its feels just like home. Breakfast was a feast to behold and we would highly recommend the Eggs benedict. Yum Yum. It's ideally situated to tour Galway City and the markets and the wild countryside along the atlantice coast. If staying in Galway we highly recommend

Room Tip: Do not miss the Egg Benedict for Breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara House

Address: 2 Merlin Gate | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Almara House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an elegant AA 4 star family residence. Guide du Routard, National Geographic, Arthur Frommers, and The Italian Touring Guide recommended. Contemporary Rooms with complimentary WI-FI, Fridge, Hospitality Tray, Mineral Water, Hairdryer and choice from our Extensive Breakfast Menu. Located in the city suburbs just 5 minutes drive from the City Centre. Tours to The Cliffs of Moher and Connemara can be organized and you are collected from our Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Almara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almara House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.