We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed = Great night sleep :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Salthill Hotel to your Saves list
The Salthill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salthill Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Comfy bed = Great night sleep :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here over night with my other half, really enjoyed our stay. Clean hotel, clean room, comfy bed & friendly staff, what more could you ask for. The night porter had us laughing the minute we arrived, really nice guy. Will der return to this hotel in the near future

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fkillilea, General Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Sarah H,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Salthill Hotel and thank you for a wonderful review. It was such a pleasure to read that you had a fabulous time and that our rooms and service was excellent.
To know that our team made you feel truly special is indeed wonderful.
We hope that you can visit us again soon and thank you for your review.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    259
    123
    50
    35
See reviews for
214
365
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

just home from a 3 day stay at this hotel, it was excellent.
Friendly staff, fantastic food. Spacious rooms. Very modern. Lovely leisure facilities. Underground parking too. All round brilliant hotel, cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Perfect for couples or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone,
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel, fab large air conditioned bedroom with very modern bathroom and a great breakfast! We stayed here yesterday for one night and could not fault the place, we got a massive room on the 3rd floor with a sea view and breakfast this morning was very tasty. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel on 3 seperate occasions, it's always clean and breakfast buffet is amazing, the staff at reception could be a little friendlier but not rude at all!! My sister went to see the wedding coordinator and found her very off putting and not friendly at all!! But overall I love this hotel...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was traveling with 6 people so the room was nice but odd. We got two triple rooms--kind of confusing. It was one room with three separate rooms within it. So, you walked in and there was a bathroom with a queen bed, then you go right and another room with two twin beds and then another room with a twin bed. All the doors closed for privacy but had to go through someone's bedroom rooms to get to the bathroom. One room could have easily slept 5… Other than that--super comfy beds, clean. Right across from the beach which is stunning. Our room had no view. No restaurants within walking distance. We ate at the hotel. Odd layout. I loved being across the street from the beach. Staff was kind of snooty and rude. Not very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel has a good location in Galway but still it is not worth the money one pays to stay here.

The rooms need to be upgraded to be worth paying 120 pounds a nite. The sea view rooms are large but they look very ordinary in terms of design and utility ....a 2 star Hotel in Dubai would score better on this attribute.

When you ask for a king bed they join two sgl beds and give you as a double bed & can you imagine this Hotel room does not have a In room safe ??????

The front desk staff are not trained to be customer centric and they don't seem to care a damn about service.


The hotel forever looks busy & seems always short of staff be it the Bar,restaurant ,rooms service. The housekeeping was the only place which seemed to be doing a good job.

The food is tasty but never comes hot and on time be it in the Bar or room.

I think this is a badly managed hotel where the owner needs to realise that Salthill is on the down hill unless he does something about it otherwise this Hotel will be closed in few years !!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Galway Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fkillilea, General Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Satish N,

Thank you for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

Needless to say I am disappointed to read your comments about your stay. We have undergone an extensive renovation programme over the past number of years and we are due to complete the work by December 2014 and to this end you will see a vast improvement in the design and decor of our rooms.

Concerning your issues regarding the general operations of the hotel, I can assure you I have addressed your concerns regarding the level of service and committment from our staff.

I hope that you will afford us the opportunity to stay at the Salthill Hotel in the near future where I am sure your experience will be more favourable.

Best Regards,
Fiona K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salthill Hotel

Address: Salthill Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salthill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salthill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.