We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Free WiFi for non staying Guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salthill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Salthill Hotel to your Saves list
The Salthill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salthill Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Free WiFi for non staying Guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This used to be a great hotel for business meetings, lots of quite spaces, nice seating, friendly staff and free wifi. Now they charge for wifi - retro move. When most hotels, cafes, businesses and city areas are going towards giving free wifi use - the Salthill Hotel decides to charge for it.
I would imagine they are losing a lot of bar business this way and the opportunity of new people discovering their hotel.
I used to arrange to meet business clients here as it also has good parking and convenient to get to, but when you have to pay to use the internet --- we now bring our business elsewhere.

Room Tip: Overnight guests can use the Wifi. Im writing this as a local business person arranging to meet clie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    259
    123
    50
    35
See reviews for
214
365
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

really great weekend at the salthill hotel. the staff couldnt do enough to make our stay as comforatble as possible and all so friendly. went for two nights- felt like i had been away a week afterwards i was so refreshed.really looking forward to coming back again before the summer is out.thanks so much to Damien and his team for such a great break.

Room Tip: fab seaview rooms meant it was lovely to open the curtains in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLady60
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is a great location...walking into Galway is 20 minutes but all on the Promenade sidewalk. The room was a generous size. Very nice pool and health center right in the building.
Breakfast is lovely--hot and delicious, buffet style, everything one could want!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice, clean and huge room, lovely Sea views.Decent Bar food, Restaurant very expensive and outrageous prices at the bar, 13euro for two Beers ???.meant we went into Town for the evening.Breakfast was very nice and the Staff seemed keen to please.We've rated it average as there is no Good box to tick and the highish room price doesn't justify a Very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for one night on our way back from Kinvara. We had stayed here several times before and had been very satisfied but on this occasion it was not the case. We rang ahead to make a booking and requested a sea view but there were none left. That was fair enough given we had booked late and there was a wedding at hotel. Check in was fine and very friendly and we went to the room (106). It was a small room and rather stuffy given the heat of the day. There was no air con so we just had to open window. Even though the room was first floor it was very low and people passing could look in. A net curtain would have given some privacy. We just had to close heavy curtains which made room even hotter. Next thing I noticed was there was no bath just a shower - I had been looking forward to a good soak. The bathroom had no extractor fan either so everything steamed up and there was nowhere in shower to hold toiletries. The bed was soo hard and uncomfortable that a good nights sleep was not had. Breakfast the following morning was ok but we had to ask a waitress to bring us tea and toast which only came half way through the meal. All in all a rather disappointing stay and more expensive than all the other hotels we stayed in on our few days away. As I said earlier, we usually enjoy our stay at Salthill but not this time. All the staff were very nice and helpful but maybe management should pay a bit more attention to the small details.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I've stayed here a few times on business. This is a good modern three star. The hotel has friendly staff and caters well for large numbers of people on bus tours etc. Rooms have tea and coffee making facilities and are clean and quite spacious. In my experience there are lots of toiletries and towels in contrast to what has been said in a previous review. There is a good breakfast though if you are late down in summer you will be in the middle of a crowd. The one major drawback is the policy on WiFi. You get 30 minutes free and after that you pay. This is ridiculous and needs to be changed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Friends of ours for married at the hotel. Food - service- accommodation very good. Nice huge front bar, fantastic views. & lovely outside area if you are a smoker.
Was a nice buffet breakfast in the morning - but slow with service but nothing that bothered us. Lovely day & night...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salthill Hotel

Address: Salthill Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salthill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salthill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.