We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Breakaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salthill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Salthill Hotel to your Saves list
The Salthill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salthill Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family Breakaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had a lovely 2 night family break away here the beginning of July.Was firstly impressed with it being so nicely located just across from the beach and just up from the amusements & waterpark for the kids :) We ate in the hotel the first night of our stay and the food was absolutely fab!So nice couldn't fault it even our picky kids cleared their plates!Loved the layout of the pools there was one for the kids to splash around in and another for the familys with a little waterfall and then a proper pool for serious swimmers.All staff were more than friendly & helpful.Only faults I could give was that our room needed a little T.L.C there was a press unit sitting over some sunken floor boards in the corner of the room,not all safety catches on windows were working (I always check these as we have 3 small kids) & there was a missing door saddle going into the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    259
    123
    50
    35
See reviews for
214
365
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tullamore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

stayed at this hotel last week, very nice hotel, helpful staff and the food very good,
we travelled as a small family on a 3 day midweek budget break, and while the room was clean it was very small and dark, the bathroom door wouldn't close there was only 3 towels between us, the remote control wouldn't work, and the wifi that was supposed to be free was charged for "not on".
the bar was nice and clean and the waitress very plesant but the bar staff had a habit of disappearing all at the same time and would have a queue waiting for them when the eventually returned. €310 for 3 nights b&b I suppose not bad but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: if you go to this hotel on a budget break you will get a dark dingy room, pay a bit extra and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely 2 night stay on July 6th and 7th. Warm welcome, relaxed friendly service, comfortable room and lots of nice areas to chill out made for a wonderful stay. We enjoyed 2 great breakfasts and a delicious dinner ,top notch. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a long weekend (5-8th July 2013).

We had a hired a car from Dublin Airport and drove across Ireland to Galway. Found the hotel very easily and there was lots a car parking, we had arrived about 1.15pm and to be quite honest did not expect the room to ready, but to our surprise it was. The room itself was larger than I had expected with two beds, one double and a single (only requested a double). The room itself was very clean, the only adverse comment I would make was that they had obviously been a leak in the radiator in the recent past and the water damage to the wooden covers to the pipes, and the curtains were slightly discoloured and slightly ripped.

The bathroom was clean with nice fluffy white towels, which were changed every day, but bathroom itself had certainly had a number of ‘bump and bruises’ which could been put right very easily, the main annoying feature was the fact that extractor fan didn’t not work which meant that the room steamed up very easy, much to the annoyance of my other half, when drying her hair

The hotel itself is lovely, the facilities itself were very good with a spa, sauna, pool and a gym all of which are available to the guest - excellent!

The breakfast were good, with lots of choice on a buffet style self services system, the cooked food section was regularly topped up with hot food, again the only adverse thing I would say is that there always seemed to be a queue for the toaster (everyday). A little bit of reorganisation by the management would have helped !

On the Sunday with had a meal in the ‘Promenade’ restaurant which was very good, we both the same meal and it was exceptionally good, (this was one of two set menus) but yet again the only sour note was when we asked for the sweet menu, we were given a cheaper of the two menus, and only when we queried this did the staff admit that they had run out of the other sweet menu, and offered to deduct the differences between the two menus, the inference is that they would have kept quiet and charged the full amount if they hadn’t have been challenged (€20 difference !)

Be careful about using the ‘Guest’ computer which is next to the reception desk, they charge €1 to use it, on the face of it’s not much (although you could argue that guest shouldn't be paying!), but when I used it (to print of boarding cards) it only gave me about 2-3 minutes use, I had a problem with Aer Lingus web site (not the fault of the hotel) so ended up putting €3 is the machine, only to be then told by the receptionist “the printer does not print off boarding card, sorry” In the end I used the reception computer/printer (at no cost !) so come on hotel management put a sign up saying ‘This printer does not print boarding card, please see the reception desk’ and if you are using the complementary Wi-Fi, be aware that you only get 30 minutes (I’m presuming that is per day) if you want a full day, access is a hefty €12.50.

Lastly just be aware that the hotel itself is used by a lot of local people for weddings and the like, so weekends can get busy. The car park did get very busy that weekend as there were two wedding on, although I have to say we didn’t have a particular problem.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just back from a 3 night break at the Salthill hotel-we had a spotless room with a sea view.
Food was excellent and service was first class.The bus runs every 20 minutes into Galway with a bus stop just outside the holel.It is a beautiful walk along the prom to Galway.
Very central location and will be back again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Enjoyed a one night stay at this hotel. We got a sea view room on the top floor and it was excellent. The service and food were great. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a clean and modern hotel. We walked on the prom to Galway and it was wonderful. The leisure centre was very clean and enjoyable. This hotel is in a great location and we enjoyed great value for our buck. We would certainly return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintona, Co. Tyrone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel on Thursday 18th July for just one night. What an excellent hotel....staff were excellent....nothing was any trouble for them. Our room was excellent, very clean, modern. We had bar food in the evening time and food and service was great. Breakfast was great with a good selection of food available. Location of the hotel is just across the road from the beach and free hotel car parking is available in front of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Salthill Hotel, no doubt the glorious weather added to the occasion, and we will return again on. A great value for money hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salthill Hotel

Address: Salthill Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salthill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salthill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.