We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average rooms BEAUTIFUL BAR” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Salthill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Salthill Hotel to your Saves list
The Salthill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salthill Promenade, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“average rooms BEAUTIFUL BAR”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

had some issues with our reservation upon arrival---specifically requested 3 beds or 1 double and 1 single, with a sea view. our initial room, while very nice and spacious, with a wonderful view of the sea had 1 king bed. with our party of 2 adult women and 1 child, this would not work. mom and child could share a bed, but not the two adults. the roll out bed they offered was not adequate at all. we ended up moving 2 times to get an appropriate room. water from the tap in the rooms tasted salty and felt slippery. the manager came to our room and agreed the water was not drinkable. the manager was fantastic, the front desk staff abit off putting....didn't believe us about the water and said we were the only ones to EVER mention it. the large spacious bar is amazing and beautiful--drinks were moderately priced and food was good. hotel is out of the way of Galway

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    302
    135
    50
    37
See reviews for
240
420
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

lovely hotel over looking galway bay, this hotel has every thing lovely swimming pool, clean rooms, food in bar is very good, but i think it has the perfect location just across the road from the beach with the views of galway bay, would stay here again as we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByrneHotelGroup, Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear cathIreland

I would like to take the time to thank you for writing such a positive review of the Salthill Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the views of Galway Bay and you enjoyed the swimming pool. I am glad you found the rooms clean and that you enjoyed the food in the bar.

We hope to welcome you back to the Salhill Hotel very soon.

Warm regards
Salthill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nice, comfortable rooms; fine breakfasts; pleasant, helpful, efficient staff; good price for three-night deal through an internet booking site; what more could we want. We marked it down to "very good" only because the area from the car park to the lift was very old and "uncomfortable"; this area made no difference to our stay, but it did represent our first impression. We will happily stay again if we return to Galway.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByrneHotelGroup, Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear 255060Andy

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

I am delighted that you had a comfortable stay, and that you found the rooms comfortable. I am delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and you found the staff pleasent, helpful and efficient, I will be sure to pass these comments on to them.

We hope to welcome you back to the Salthill Hotel very soon.

Warm regards
Salthill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Excellent service, friendly and welcoming staff. Beautiful rooms!

We arrived early after 28 hours travel and although our room wasn't ready they provided us with refreshments and had our room available within 15 minutes.

Can't wait to retun

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have breathtaking views on a clear day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByrneHotelGroup, Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear PMON33

I would like to take the time to thank you for writing such a positive review of our property.

I am delighted that you received such excellent service from our staff and that you found them very welcoming. I am thrilled that you found our rooms beautiful.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Warm regards
Salthill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Found staff at reception friendly at check in..had a lovely meal in the restuarant which has a nice atmosphere and looks out on galway bay..rooms nice and clean couldnt complain! Night porter has 15+ yrs experience and woz a gentleman..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByrneHotelGroup, Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear cary-ann

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our property.

I am delighted that you found our Front Office staff very friendly, I will be sure to pass on these kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and that you found our rooms nice and clean.

Warm regards
Salthill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graubünden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have been several times to the Salthill hotel and only had good experiences. The staff is very kind and are happy to help with any questions. The breakfast buffet is great and also the food at the bar/restaurant is very good. What I also enjoyed about the hotel was the great Spa and Gym area. By bus it takes you about 15 minutes to get into the centre of Galway which I think is not too far away. Usually we would book a sea view room; so that we could enjoy the nice view. There is no doubt, that if we go back to Galway that we will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByrneHotelGroup, Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Vrin

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of the Salthill Hotel.

I am thrilled that you found our staff vey kind, I will be sure to pass these kind comments onto them. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food in the hotel, the breakfast the bar and restaurant food. I am glad that you enjoyed the spa and gym area in the leisure centre.

We hope to see you soon

Warm regards
Salthill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel recently for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised at the standard. The room was large and spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable and the shower excellent. A request for an iron and ironing board was filled within 5 minutes. The location is great for long walks on the promenade in Salthill and it was only a few minutes drive to the city centre. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Galway.

Room Tip: we stayed in a triple room (not by choice) and it was double the size of the other rooms so very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByrneHotelGroup, Manager at The Salthill Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear UnaHen

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our property.

I am thrilled that you found the room to be large and spotlessy clean and the bed to be comfortable. I am delighted to hear that you will recommend the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Salthill Hotel very soon.

Warm regards
Salthill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salthill Hotel

Address: Salthill Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salthill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.