We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good room, good service, good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garvey's Inn

Garvey's Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garvey's Inn to your Saves list
Garvey's Inn
Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, good room, good service, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently stayed at Garvey's Inn in August 2013. I had read on a few reviews that service was not good, I did not experience this at all. We arrived to the hotel early and the receptionist was very friendly and luckily our room was clean so we were allowed in early.

Reviews mentioned that the rooms are small. Yes, I would agree with this but it was more than adequate for only staying a few nights in town. It may have been on the smaller side but it had everything a person would need (unlike some larger accomodations). For example, there was an iron and ironing board, tea making facilities, full length mirror, and a desk with a large mirror (near an outlet) which made it a great little spot for a girl to do her hair and makeup!

I have also read that noise is something of a concern. I would say this is partially true. It was warm so we had to open the window and so that let a lot of the street noise into the room. I did notice that the double glazing on the windows did keep out a lot of noise but as I said, it was August and warm so we kept them open a lot of the time. Also, because it's a cheaper hotel, younger people are going to stay here so there was a bit of noisy knocking at doors at 2:30am when people were coming home from clubs.

In all, I really liked my stay here. It was by far one of the cheapest hotels I could find for the weekend (most places were sold out) and the location cannot be beat! It's right on Erye Square. The staff there were ALWAYS friendly every time we saw them and never too busy to help us. Is this a 4 or 5 star establishment? No. But it was clean, affordable, and in a good location and that goes a long way in Galway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    9
    10
    16
See reviews for
3
36
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is called "Bed & Breakfast" but they charge breakfast outside the room tariff. The price was not worth, considering the size of the room, the noise around the area and the overall cleanliness. The only consoling fact is that the location is probably the most happening area in Galway. The beaches are 15 minutes walk, the train station & Bus station are just opposite (just cross the road) and the city center is very close by. The Irish tourist information center is less than 100 meters. The bar is good with wide variety and they also make good Pizzas even for Vegetarian folks.
If you want just a night stay and close to Galway Train or Bus station, it is a good deal. Surely not recommended for peaceful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great pub i've been here a few times. Great pints, great food, very reasonable prices and very friendly staff. Its right on Eyre Square so its near everything. On a warm summers night they have no issues with taking the pints onto the streets! Try the Blue Moon on Tap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great location close to train and bus station and within immediate walking distance of the city. Adequate room and was very clean. Staff was pleasant and complimentary breakfast was great, including the free steak dinner made the whole stay a real bargain. An extensive breakfast was not just a continental breakfast and was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We got off the train from Dublin and only had a 2 minute walk to Garvey's which is right on Eyre Square. This is a party hotel in the loudest part of Galway and not for the faint of heart. If you're into peace and solitude, please don't stay at any hotel near Eyre Square especially on a Saturday night! Rooms are small but very clean and reasonably priced. The pub downstairs was super fun! Budget car rental is in the same building, just around the corner so very convenient if you're going to rent a car and explore the west of Ireland. Which you should!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here Saturday night, What a great little place, the reviews on here made me nervous and i was going to cancel but im glad i did'ent. Right in the center on Eyre Square. The location was great you can walk to all the pubs and clubs, no taxi needed :). The rooms are small and the bathroom is very small but it's clean and comfortable and that's all I wanted. You pay for what you get and at €85.00 that was a great. I would not go on the reviews here, I will be back again there soon as I found it lovely and the people are friendly.

Room Tip: Room 219 on Second floor over looking Eyre Square. Lovely room, Small but comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I'm a firm believer in you pay for what you get. I certainly got my money's worth. On arrival I was dealt with promptly and given keys to my double room.it was quite small but clean and had everything I needed for my two nights stay...located right beside train station and bus depot in eyre square right within stricking distance of all Galway city has to offer.

Lads behind the bar were complete gents and went out of their way to be helpful. This place would probably more suited to younger couples or people looking for a cheap get away right in the thick of it.

Breakfast wasn't amazing but tasty enough and would set you up for the day.

Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garvey's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garvey's Inn

Address: Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the corner of Eyre Square, in the heart of Galway, Garvey's Inn is within a 2 minute walk of the bus & train station. With Garvey's impressive stand overlooking Galway's focal point - Eyre Square; this establishment has become a landmark in Galway City. Garvey's is in close proximity to all amenities and local attractions. Therefore, whatever your interests, you will almost always find what you are looking for at our doorstep! All en-suite rooms, multi-channel television, direct-dial telephone, hair-dryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser-press and fabulous views of Eyre Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garvey's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garvey`s Hotel Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garvey's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.