We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The g Hotel Galway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The g Hotel Galway to your Saves list
The g Hotel Galway
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellpark, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Galway
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“5 star from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

This is my thrid time back to the G - I keep trying to find excuses to go back. We arrived
a little early so our room was not ready so we went to the bar and waited. The receptionist came to find us half an hour later and brought us to our room. The room
was spacious, bright and clean. Our bathroom had a stand alone bath and separate
double rain shower. We ate in the restaurant that night. Its good but not the best there
is in Galway. The location is a little outside the city but never bothers me as when I
arrive I never want to leave. Our welcome cup cakes were delivered to our door with a
card welcoming us back to the hotel. The valet parking is not included any more which
is a pity as it was a nice touch. Also the mini bar is not stocked unless you request it. As
usual the staff could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    357
    189
    79
    33
See reviews for
128
1,040
23
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

One of my favourite hotels in the world. Design is something I have never seen before. The staff are super nice, especially the concierge who parks your car. He is what other hotels should base their standards on. The town has better located hotels, but this is the best, and there is a great pub across the road if you want to catch a cheaper drink and watch some sport.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Just back from the G, and once more really enjoyed my time. Its just great to Chill Out in the Lobby, with some good food and Great Wine, " Sharon thanks for the recommendation on the red"

Will be back

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The North
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Strange situation with the back of the hotel as part of a shopping complex. Over rated as a 5*, very mean with the toiletaries.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed at The G Hotel recently with friends. While the staff are extremely lovely and very attentive, this can become quite annoying. We were having coffees in the lounge on one afternoon and were asked by 4 different people if we were ready to order; we had ordered and even when the coffees did arrive one of them was not what we ordered. It took a further 10 mins to get the drink. By the way, you will pay an extortionate €5.50 for a coffee.......oh, and an Amerette biscuit!

I found the toilets were very dirty. Even at 2.30 in the afternoon, there were paper towels thrown around, water splashed all over the place and no toilet paper in some of the toilets.
The lounge areas are also far from clean. In the pink room; there are pink chairs with white legs. The legs on most of the chairs were filthy with food and coffee stains all over. The mens toilets are entered off this room and the door was filthy. I would have assumed that a 5* hotel would have to maintain all areas to a better standard.

The room while very spacious and clean was overlooking a retail park car park; not exactly what you want to be looking at. Although i suppose this couldn't be helped. someone has to look at it. And i have to say i had no complaints about the beds. They were extremely comfortable.

Now for my biggest upset of the whole stay. The breakfast was to put it mildly appalling. I had the most revolting pancakes with maple syrup and blueberry compote. The pancakes were so dry that they broke up like cardboard, they most definately had not been cooked freshly and i would go so far as to say they were not made on the premises. My friend had eggs benedict, this also was terrible. The poached eggs were so hard that they could bounce off the floor like a golf ball. The cooked breakfast was dried out and the sausages were so dense that they tasted like rubber. We waited almost 10 minutes to be seated for breakfast on the second morning and when we were seated we had no glasses. We had to ask twice for glasses eventually getting them after 20 mins.

I found it quite off putting that there was a hen night at the hotel at the same time. I know of quite a few hotels that do not let this happen and they would not claim to be 5* either. Looking at a women walking around with 'L' signs pinned to her clothes and veils etc hanging off her is not exactly how i saw my stay panning out.

All in all i would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a stay in the lap of luxury and you are expecting 5* all the way. In its current state it is at most 3*. Maybe if prices dropped it might be worth it, but from now on i will be staying at 'The House Hotel' which in my opinion is a far superior hotel. Unfortunately The G is a victim of the recession; however, Their standards should not slip as a result.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Really funky hotel, took a while to get used to all the mad colours, but at the end of our 2 night stay we felt well and truly at home in the G. Definitely the best part of the hotel is the food served in the restaurant. Gorgeous food. The spa is very nice also.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed at the g for one night only recently but loved it. The staff were all geuinely friendly and the service was excellent. I will definitely be staying there again!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The g Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The g Hotel Galway

Address: Wellpark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#5 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#7 Business Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The g Hotel Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g offers restful guestrooms, a luxury spa designed by ESPA, delectable dining options, state of the art conference facilities and a bespoke wedding venue.Exclusive 5-star hotel - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 luxurious guestrooms - Five-star service - Opulent spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & signature lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 120 delegates - Bespoke wedding venue. Selected as an AA 5-star Hotel and awarded 2 AA Rosettes for Culinary Excellence 2012/2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The g Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The g Hotel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.